>Mock Rib Hem On The Bond (2)

>This video shows how you can add a mock rib cuff to a sleeve after the rest of the sleeve has been knitted.

I knitted this jumper back in 2005:
fisherman's rib
It was made on the Bond Ribber and was a bit big when I first made it but every time it was washed it seemed to get wider and wider. I also found the collar rather annoying as it wouldn’t stay put and would flap about.

So I pulled it out and re-knitted it into this:
Robin Fascination Jumper

I used the Knitware software to create the pattern and am very pleased with the result. I did a cut and sew neck so that the stripes would stay the same on either side. I wasn’t sure if it would work with the yarn being chunky but it was fine.
Cut And Sew Neckline
If it had been a solid colour I would have just knitted the neck as normal but I wanted the stripes to match so I had to do it this way.

I will be re-knitting a few more jumpers that I hardly ever wear, either because they’ve gone out of shape through washing or they’re now too tight for me. It’s a shame to get rid of them when they can be easily re-knitted so that’s what I’ll be doing with them.

I have a few balls of Jaeger Celticspun in a coral colour that I’m going to knit into a short sleeved jumper. I’ve created a pattern with Knitware so I’m hoping to get started on that soon.

Talk to you later,

This entry was posted in machine knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to >Mock Rib Hem On The Bond (2)

  1. steel breeze says:

    >Love that yarn! What is it? and the collar turned out great! I did that with a similar yarn. It’s the only way to make the sides match.

  2. Tracy says:

    >Your repurposed sweater is stunning! I might be a little bit jealous because it looks as though you have sunshine for taking pictures? Hmph.Thank you for the newest video!T

  3. >Suzy when you reknit something do you make another swatch or use the first one(swatch) for the reknitting??? Thx Sheryl

  4. Susan says:

    >Thanks everyone.The yarn is Robin Fascination, I don’t think it’s made anymore.ecountrystore1 – I made a new swatch before I reknitted it then washed the swatch before I took the measurements.

  5. taurigal says:

    >What beautiful yarn! I love the sweater. Good tip about the cut-n-sew neckline too – that’s a great use for the technique. Thanks!

  6. tismeaaron says:

    >Lovely yarn! Is it acrylic?

  7. Susan says:

    >Thanks. Yes, it is acrylic.

Comments are closed.