>Finished At Last

>The short sleeved jumper is finally finished. How come something as plain and simple as this takes me so long to knit?

Short Sleeved Jumper

It was knitted on the Bond using a pattern I created using the Knitware software. The yarn I used was Jaeger Celticspun which was quite old so I thought it might be a bit fragile. I only managed to snap it once when I did the e wrap cast on a little bit too tight.

I have a small battery operated scale that weighs a maximum of 120g and is ideal for weighing tension squares, then Knitware works out how much is needed to make the garment. That way I know if I’ll have enough wool to finish whatever it is I am making. This jumper had to have short sleeves as I didn’t have enough of the Jaeger Celticspun for long ones.

This is how much was left after it was finished:

Leftover Wool

I put it on top of the Bond keyplate so that you can see the true size of those leftovers – not very big!

That is one of the things I like about Knitware, it’s very accurate as to the amount of yarn required.

I think the next thing I should complete is the navy blue jumper that I started on the Knitmaster 700 ages ago. All I’ve done so far is the back so I think I should finish that before I start on anything else, don’t you?

Talk to you later,

This entry was posted in machine knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to >Finished At Last

  1. tismeaaron says:

    >Looks Very nice! and lovely colour, Well done!

  2. Susan says:

    >Thanks, tismeaaron.

  3. SVMD says:

    >Hi Susan, Okay now this is my 4th try at leaving a message. Lovely sweater,you did a fantastic job, & the finishing is great. I'm sure that the colour looks lovely on you too.All the best,Shirley Dorsey

  4. Susan says:

    >Thanks Shirley.Sorry you had trouble leaving a comment – I wonder if Blogger is playing up?

  5. >Weighing the sample swatch…(slap myself on the forehead!) that is just so simple. Thank you for the idea. I have some (maybe several, but shhh)unfinished sweaters because I did not know what my wool would yield, once knitted. Maybe I’ll be unknitting and reknitting too. ^__^

  6. Anonymous says:

    >Hi Suzy, is that a cut & sew neck?? Thx Sheryl

  7. Susan says:

    >bunches of yarn – when you create a pattern with Knitware there is a section where you can add the weight of the sample and it works out how much you need, I wouldn’t know where to start if I had to work it out myself!Sheryl – no, it’s not a cut and sew neckline.

  8. giuseppe says:

    >hello, have you ever tried using this same yarn using (old) keyplate #1? i think the yarn i have is the same thickness/weight and i am able to knit with it on keyplate #1… i just noticed though, today i was trying to do a cable and i was only able to transfer 2 stitches. it was too tight when i tried to transfer 3.

  9. Susan says:

    >Hi Giuseppe, I haven't tried knitting this with the old KP1. I think you'd probably be better off sticking to KP2 as it will give a looser tension and probably make it easier to do the cables.

Comments are closed.