>The Sponge/Needle Retaining Bar

>They never seem to tell you about this in the instruction manual even though it is a very important part of the knitting machine:

What I didn’t mention in the video is how to put the sponge bar back into place.

You need to take a ruler or something similar with a flat edge and press the needles down as you slide the bar back into place. The bar should be on top of the needles with the sponge part facing down.

Today I knitted the front and both sleeves of the navy jumper that I started on the Knitmaster 700 ages ago. It’s been that long since I used this machine that I’d forgotten how to cast on with the ribber attached.

Anyway, all that’s left to do now is the cut and sew neck and the finishing which will hopefully be done by next weekend.

I made a tension sample using some light blue cotton that I found at a charity shop a while ago. I’m hoping there’ll be enough to make a short sleeved top. I was going to do it in a tuck stitch pattern but I’ve decided to do it plain instead.

Talk to you later,

This entry was posted in machine knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to >The Sponge/Needle Retaining Bar

  1. Mariam says:

    >hello Susan I need helpmy knitting machine same your nearly (singer)and have problem in the ribber it is stuck, and change the Sponge bar but it dose not work sorry for my bad english and please help me

  2. Susan says:

    >Mariam – what is stuck?

  3. Mariam says:

    >oh sorrythat’s meaning the carriage stop if I move it on the needleI hope understand methanks

  4. Susan says:

    >Do you have the ribber attached and adjusted properly?Are the needles in the right position for knitting?Is the carriage set properly?Is the rail oiled?Has anything siezed up on the carriage?Anyone else have any suggestions? I can’t think of anything else.

  5. Mariam says:

    >thanks Sosanevery thing properly , I did all from instruction book I knitted with ribber before 2 months but now I don’t know what happening I will made video about this problem

  6. Mariam says:

    >the problem solvedDo you have the ribber attached and adjusted properly?no, it wasn’t properlyso thanks so much

  7. Anonymous says:

    >Interesting Write Up!Mesh Sponge

Comments are closed.