>Knitting Update

>Here is the plain, boring, navy blue jumper that I finished last week.

Navy Jumper

I’m now knitting a light blue short sleeved cotton top in plain stocking stitch. All I’ve done so far is the back.

Once again I used Knitware to create the pattern.

I wondered how I would be able to take a row and stitch count from a swatch if I wanted to knit something in a fancy stitch as it would be a bit difficult to count, not realising that the answer was there all the time.

All I need to do is make a swatch as per the instructions for the Knit Radar and use the green ruler to measure it. You see I didn’t realise that the ruler will give the exact row and stitch counts for 4 inches, I thought it was something worked out especially for the Knit Radar. (I’m always saying that I’m amazed at my own stupidity at times.)

Out of curiosity I tested it out on my swatch for the cotton top. When I used the green ruler to take the readings between the waste yarn rows and markers I got 39 sts x 55 rows.

I then used a normal ruler and counted the stitches and rows over 4 inches I got exactly the same results.

So now I know! Why didn’t anybody tell me? The answer to that is “well you didn’t ask.”

I finally have one of the brackets made for the Weavemaster, Billy made it at the weekend.

Bracket

Maybe in another four months he’ll make the second one. I don’t mind waiting, to be fair he doesn’t have a lot of free time with working away all week and only being home for one day. He has more important things to do than spend his spare time in the shed bending metal. I told him that when he’s made the second bracket I’ll weave him a rug for his cab – he just laughed.

Thanks Jane for your help with the bracket, I really appreciate it.

Talk to you later,

Susan.

This entry was posted in machine knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to >Knitting Update

  1. steel breeze says:

    >woohoo! result! Billy is a keeper, that’s for sure! Don’t forget to stick some draught excluder on that bracket!Yes, I didn’t believe in the green ruler either, at first, but it’s so cool I wish I’d thought of it! 🙂

  2. tismeaaron says:

    >I have been trying to master a simple plain jumper on my machine for ages but things just keep going wrong or i read the pattern wrong!Im thinking of making an easy pattern on knitware. What style do you think is easiest? drop sleeve?

  3. >It may be a matter of semantics to say that your blue sweater is a basics classic–well, to me it is. Metal bending Billy does a good work.Now you tell me! that’s what those numbers are for????! You have just saved me lots of time. Thank you!I always find something helpful and time saving here. ^__^

  4. Susan says:

    >Thanks for all your comments.tismeaaron, I think drop sleeve is probably the easiest to do but a set in sleeve would be a better fit.

  5. >Suzy, don't be so hard on yourself. I think the navy sweater is a solid choice. Did you recently buy Knitware?? I don't remember you talking about it before. It is a super program, very easy to use. Down in the bottom right hand screen where you enter your gauge there is a slot for the name of the stitch pattern that you are using. I use my GC a lot & always add that info so that when I want to use that design again I will have the data saved right on the pattern. Hope this is making sense!! It's been a long day. Sheryl

  6. Susan says:

    >I have had the demo version of Knitware for a few years now though I think I’ve only used it about half a dozen times.

Comments are closed.