>The Bond Magicord Machine

>I cord can be used as a trim or edging and also to embellish your knitwear. You can plait three lengths together and sew the braid onto a jumper to give a mock cable effect.

The Bond Magicord Machine makes i cord quickly and easily. There are other similar machines available but the Bond Magicord is the one I have.

It can be a bit tricky getting it started but once you get going you can produce yards and yards of i cord in no time at all:

I found instructions online showing how to make an i cord scarf – here’s my effort that I made three years ago:

scarf

The instruction manual that came with the machine has lots of ideas on what you can make with your i cord including curtain tie backs, bags, place mats, coasters, hairslide and jewellery. I’m sure there are lots of other things you could make – your only limit is your imagination!

I wonder if it would be possible to knit something with your i cord using very big needles. I can’t see any reason why you couldn’t but what would you knit with ‘yarn’ that thick?

Talk to you later,

Susan.

This entry was posted in Misc. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to >The Bond Magicord Machine

  1. Tracy says:

    >Knitted i-cord would make an incredibly cushiony rug; garter stitch in yarn to match the bathroom? Sounds perfectly reasonable to me.What is/is a jackanory?

  2. Susan says:

    >It was a mistake – I put the wrong title on the post!I wrote a post on my other blog about someone who tells a good story.Jackanory was a children’s TV programme where well known actors and such would read out a story.For some reason known only to me I went and put the same title on this post – I will change it now!

  3. Susan says:

    >Bineet, I have no idea what you are talking about but I do think you made an unfortunate spelling mistake there.

  4. Bineet says:

    >The history of mathematics goes a long way back with devices and methods of calculation.Machines Starting with the ancient Abacus, the slide rule and the logarithms, the mechanical calculating machines, the electromechanical calculators and finally the electronic computer.

  5. Charlotte says:

    >Where did you get your Magicord machine? I’m looking for one at the moment and can’t seem to find any on sale in the UK!

  6. Susan says:

    >Hi Charlotte, I got mine from ebay a few years ago.The Embellish Knit is the same as the Magicord machine and is available from http://www.bond-america.comI believe they ship to the UK.I don’t know if it’s available from any UK suppliers.Hope this helps.

  7. susyranner says:

    Reblogged this on My Knitting Machines And Me and commented:

    As there is no knitting to report and isn’t likely to be for some time, I thought I’d try WordPress.com’s ‘Random Post’ and ‘Reblog’ features. I kept clicking on ‘Random Post’ until I found one that might be useful then I clicked ‘Reblog’.
    I’ve never tried this before so I’m not sure what happens when I publish it. Here goes.

  8. Pingback: The Bond Magicord Machine

Comments are closed.