>What I’ve Been Doing

>I’ve nearly finished the stripey top, there’s just a side seam and a sleeve seam to sew up. I’m sewing it up by hand rather than with the Hague linker as it’s quite fine and I have found that the linker doesn’t give a very good seam on finer yarns – maybe that’s just me.

After reading through my old blog posts these last few weeks I have become inspired to get knitting again. I’m amazed that I used to be knitting something new practically every week. Where on earth did I find the time?

Yesterday I knitted this on the Knitmaster 4500:

Bolero Back

It’s the back of a bolero and is knitted sideways from cuff to cuff. I have used this pattern once before, it’s from the May 1956 edition of ‘Modern Knitting’.

I don’t know when I’ll be knitting the rest of it because I also knitted this yesterday:

2ply Top Back

That is the back of a top which I’m also knitting on the Knitmaster 4500. I’m using Wendy Nylonette 2ply which is quite old and a bit fragile in places! I don’t know if it’s been got at by moths or if it’s just because it’s so old but it did break a few times – once or twice in the middle of a row which resulted with it coming off the needles.

I want to start working my way through all the yarn that I’ve been accumulating (yes I know, you’ve heard it all before) so I knitted some tension samples on the Knitmaster 700:

Tension Swatches

Top left is the cotton or cotton mix yarn that I’m going to knit into a short sleeved top.

Top right will be a long sleeved V neck jumper.

Bottom left is Jaeger Dappelwul which is going to be a short sleeved raglan top. The sleeves will be knitted in a different yarn as there won’t be enough of the Jaeger. I have a turquoisey blue yarn that I think will look OK with it so I’ll be using that.

Bottom right – I don’t know what I’m going to make with that. It will probably be another short sleeved top.

So those are my future projects – unless I run out of steam before I finish the bolero and 2ply top!

I won an ebay auction for this a couple of days ago:

Shadow Lace Tool

It’s a shadow lace tool, I’ve been after one of these for a while now. It arrived this morning and I’ve had a read of the instructions. It looks as if it will be easy enough to use but I don’t know when I’ll get the chance to try it out.

The only other thing I’m after now is a single and double bed colour changer (is it a YC5 or a YC6?). I’ve got a double bed colour changer but I’m thinking the other one will be more useful. I’m not in any hurry for that though, I think they’re easy enough to get hold of.

Talk to you later,

Susan.

This entry was posted in machine knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to >What I’ve Been Doing

  1. steel breeze says:

    >Get the YC6 – it does both single and double, and comes with the single bed cc carriage.

  2. Susan says:

    >Thanks Jane, I'll look out for one.

  3. A. Lee says:

    >If you have the double bed won't that so single as well??

  4. Susan says:

    >No because you have to use it with the ribber attached.

Comments are closed.