>A New Hat

>Last week I decided to knit myself a new hat. The weather has been so cold and the hat I had was nice and warm but it was beige and I always felt like a little old woman when I was wearing it.

So I made a new one using some DK that I found in a charity shop for 20p a ball. I used two and a half balls of it.

Fishermans Rib Hat Front

Fishermans Rib Hat Back

It was knitted on the Knitmaster 4500 with the Ribmaster attached in fisherman’s rib, the pattern is from an old Modern Knitting magazine. It’s a bit tedious when shaping the crown as you have to take it off on waste yarn then replace it onto less needles. You do this about four or five times in all. It’s worth it though as it fits the head nicely with no bulk.

I still feel like a little old woman when I’m wearing it but at least it’s not beige!

Talk to you later,

Susan.

This entry was posted in machine knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to >A New Hat

  1. Lynne says:

    >I've got my ribber up and attached. Can't wait to learn how to use and make things like this.

  2. Rose Blue says:

    >The hat is cute! Nice work.Charlene

  3. Susan says:

    >Thanks, Rose Blue.Good luck with the ribber, Lynne.

  4. RosyTint says:

    >Love that hat! You did a great job, as always.

Comments are closed.