>A Hole In My Sock

>A Hole In My Sock

Well that didn’t last very long, did it?

Talk to you later,

Susan.

This entry was posted in Misc. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to >A Hole In My Sock

  1. Ysabeau says:

    >It's why I always knit heel and toe with special crewel (in French : fil de renfort, I don't konw the exact English word !) like the very dear old Thérèse de Dillmont learn to women in 19th century.

  2. Susan says:

    >I think I'll be doing some darning at the weekend.

  3. >Oh, not so good. Did you use sock yarn? My people have 'nails of steel' and I'm always mending the big toe area. I've found that when I use the reinforcing yarn from that German yarn company…froehlich (sp?) the toe part lasts many, many months. Sometimes I work a base grid of nylon sewing thread–the spun thread, not the monofilament–and then duplicate stitch with the sock yarn. This works almost as well as the foehlich yarn. ^__^

  4. Susan says:

    >I didn't use sock yarn, it was just leftovers so I was expecting it to happen. I'll darn them and see how long they last this time.

  5. Ysabeau says:

    >You can knit only heels and toes with socks yarn and use other leftovers for the feet and the leg.In fact one of the reason why I like knit socks is that it's worth repair them and I like this work. But fort the moment, none of my hand knitted socks has a hole…

Comments are closed.