>Bond Cast On Comb

>Some time ago I made a cast on comb for the Bond knitting machine.

In the video I made about it at the time I used an e-wrap cast on.

I would like to be able to just use ravel cord and hang the comb on it but it won’t work due to the fact that the hooks on the comb are catching on the wire guide on the carriage. I don’t know if this would be a problem with the USM carriage as it has no wire but I don’t know exactly what the carriage is like.

I have found it works OK using the elastic thread as the weight of the comb pulls it down enough for the carriage to move across without catching.

Here’s a video I made showing how to cast on this way:

There may be an easier way to do it but as yet I don’t know what it is!

Talk to you later,

Susan.

This entry was posted in machine knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to >Bond Cast On Comb

  1. alex says:

    >hi susan wouldn't it work using the bond bringing every other needle forward knitting 1 row then hanging the comb and bringing all the other needles into work and continue knitting?

  2. Susan says:

    >No, because of the way the Bond works it's not possible to do that – I tried.

  3. Sheryl says:

    >Hi! There is a site online that is selling newly made garter bars for the Bond. Here is her url http://www.kriskrafter.com/. Might want to take a look for yourself. Hugs Sheryl

  4. Susan says:

    >Thanks Sheryl. I have heard about it but I don't think it would be worth my while buying one as I hardly ever use the Bond these days.If it was my only machine and I used it a lot I would definitely treat myself to one, it's a very useful accessory.

  5. Anonymous says:

    >Sheryl, thanks for the good word on my garter bars – the even better news is that i am now working on producing the needle stoppers as well. For many machine knitters it is not a problem to use a garter Bar without a needle stopper but for others if your needles are a bit loosey goosey (such as mine on my USM), then a needle stopper would be helpful. Anyway….coming soon!Kris BastaKriskrafter.com

Comments are closed.