>I Have Seen The Light

>I have finally done something about my wool stash. I know that I will never, ever use it all. I kept telling myself that I would eventually work my way through it all but in reality I know I never will.

So today I have had a sort out.

I now have three bin bags full of yarn that is destined for charity shops (which is where most of it came from in the first place).

You have no idea how good it feels to finally be free of it. I can see inside the cupboard now. I don’t have to pull out boxes of wool to get at things anymore. It’s like a weight has been lifted from my shoulders. I know that sounds a bit over-dramatic but it’s true.

As I was throwing all the odd balls of yarn into the bin bags I was asking myself over and over again “why did I buy that?” Well, I know why I bought it – because it was there to be bought and it was cheap. It was a vintage yarn but what use is it really if there’s not enough to make anything with it?

So that’s that.

I’ve kept some of it, I think there’s enough for about four jumpers or tops and a few odd balls of 3ply for socks. I also kept some odd balls of 4ply so I can finish the mitred square blanket that I started ages ago – one day it will be finished.

I can’t decide what to do with my knitting machines. The only ones I’m likely to use now are the Knitmaster 4500, Silver Reed 280 and the Bond. That leaves the Knimasters 302, 321 and 151. I really don’t think I’ll ever use them again, they’ll probably stay under the bed gathering dust for the rest of my life. Do I get rid of them or do I keep them? I don’t know.

Talk to you later,

Susan.

This entry was posted in Misc. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to >I Have Seen The Light

  1. Tracy says:

    >Oh! Congratulations! It is so hard to pass up a bargain, but there are so many of us who are in the same situation you are (were). A cupboard (or three) full-to-falling with fibres that we have no plan for, or plans for fibres that we don't have enough of.As for the machines? Get rid of them. You've gotten your enjoyment from them or you've learned what you wanted. It's time for them to be in a home where they'll be appreciated and loved (and someone else will have to do the dusting!).Uh… you did ask, didn't you?

  2. Susan says:

    >I know you're right. I will get rid of them……….. eventually.

  3. Monique says:

    >As far as the machines. Let someone else enjoy them. I agree with Tracy; you will enjoy your space alot better.

  4. Anonymous says:

    >Knitting machines:In Holland we have a charity that would take them in, service them, and shipped them to Africa. They have to be non-electric, electronic kind of knit machine – simeple handmachine like Bond. Some remote areas in Africa, unfortunately, electricity is still a problem. Perhaps you can find something similar in the UK?Cindy

  5. brenda says:

    >I know exactly what you mean. Been there, done that.

  6. Susan says:

    >Thanks for your comments.I don't think there's a charity like that in my area but it's a good idea, at least the machines would go to good use.I still need to convince myself that I don't need the machines anymore – I'm still in denial. But at least I'm letting go of the stash!

  7. Cerita says:

    >Susan, I did the same thing a few weeks ago, had a good old sort out in the yarns and fabric department. I threw out all the rubbish yarn/fabric I knew I would never use, have some in bags ready for charity and kept the all the natural fibres, as I like them best.I also want to have only four machines, so that's next; a machine sort out.I get fed-up when I see too much stuff, it takes up space and reminds me all the money I spent on it LOL!

  8. Susan says:

    >I think the Knitmaster Chunky 151machine will be the first to go as I've only used it a couple of times. That was a £5 bargain from a charity shop.

  9. Stitcher says:

    >Just had to leave you a message. The chunky machine should easily sell for more than £5 on Ebay, I've seen them go for about £60. congrats on your clear out, can I now bring you all mine? Please, or some of the 10 bin bags of wool I have – please.

  10. Susan says:

    >10 bib bags of wool! Do you think you'll ever knit it all?I was thinking of offering the chunky machine on Freecycle. If nobody wants it then I might stick it on Ebay.

Comments are closed.