>Bag Holder

>Yesterday I made a bag holder for all the plastic carrier bags that I’ve accumulated. I use them as liners for the kitchen bin and the small waste bins I have in every room but they are usually just shoved in a cupboard.

The idea was from bag holders that I’ve seen for sale in various gadgety catalogues. I just used some odd balls of yarn (I was going to use it for socks) and worked out a simple pattern.

This is how it turned out:

Bag Holder

For anyone who’s interested, here’s how I made it.

Using 4ply yarn cast on 80 stitches using an e-wrap cast on.

Tension 4, Knit 2 rows.

Transfer every 3rd stitch onto it’s adjacent needle, leaving the empty needles in working position.

Carry on knitting to approximately 220 rows.

Transfer every 3rd stitch as before, leaving the empty needles in working position.

Knit 4 rows.

Cast off.

Sew up the side seam.

Thread elastic through the bottom row of eyelets and ribbon or i-cord through the top row of eyelets, making it long enough to hang on a hook or door handle.

Stuff your carrier bags in the top and pull them out of the bottom as you need them.

I hope some of you find this useful.

Talk to you later,

Susan.

This entry was posted in machine knitting, Patterns. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to >Bag Holder

  1. >im new at knitting and am very thankful that you launched this type of site… 😀

  2. steel breeze says:

    >Love it! If I could think of where to hang it in the kitchen I'd make one!We removed the kitchen door years ago as it interferes with the fridge door. Makes for interesting times when the (very sensitive. mains-powered) smoke alarm goes off!!

  3. AnaVar says:

    >Looks great! I was thinking what to do with all balls, and I have them in huge box right now. The only problem I see here is that you can't see the balls and if you want one in a middle, you have to take all out. Thanks for instructions!

Comments are closed.