>Latest Project

>This is what I am knitting now:

Pattern In Magazine

It’s from the December 1958 issue of Modern Knitting.

I’m knitting it on the Knitmaster 4500 using the Cygnet Wool Rich 4ply that I bought with some of the vouchers that Billy gave me for my birthday in December.

I don’t think I’ll bother putting the pockets in the front, although having said that I’ll no doubt change my mind.

Here’s what I’ve done so far:

Jumper Back

The pattern at the bottom is really easy to do. Put every 3rd stitch into holding position, knit 2 rows. Put every 3rd stitch back into working position, knit 2 rows. Those four rows are the pattern.

The most tedious part was taking the work off onto waste yarn after knitting the patterned section, turning it round and re-hanging it with the plain side facing.

Here’s a close up of the pattern:

Stitch Pattern Close Up

My tension is slightly off, it should be 16sts and 24 rows to 2 inches. I got 16 stitches and 22 rows to 2 inches. So if I knit the number of rows the pattern says it will end up longer than the measurements they give – I think – or will it be shorter? I’m never quite sure how it works. Oh well, I’ll find out when it’s finished. The back seems OK so I think it will be alright.

Talk to you later,

Susan.

This entry was posted in machine knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to >Latest Project

  1. Lynne says:

    >Wow that is just beautiful.

  2. Sheryl says:

    >Susy, why didn't you use your new punchcard machine for the tuck sts & flip the knit with a garter bar?? But very beautiful work. I love the color. Sheryl

  3. Susan says:

    >Thanks.Sheryl, I used the Knitmaster 4500 as the pattern was written for it. As for the garter bar, I don't have one!

  4. Monique says:

    >Very nice Susan!

  5. Phil says:

    >Hi Susan, looks great! Think its great you got back on the 4500 too! I think it definately loks worth the effort you put into it! Cant wait to see final piece.

Comments are closed.