>Jumper Update

>I only have the neckband left to knit for the jumper but I won’t be doing it. Instead I’ll be pulling the lot out and re-knitting it into something else.

Having sewn it all up yesterday I have decided it’s just not right. The tuck stitch band around the bottom is way too bulky and it would just annoy me too much.

I also did a terrible job at sewing up the hem as you can see in the photo, there’s a line all the way round.

Jumper Gone Wrong

What’s annoying is that I didn’t sew it up with the Hague linker so it will take ages to unpick the seams. I did the side and sleeve seams in mattress stitch so they’ll come apart easily but I backstitched the armhole and shoulder seams.

Never mind, back to the drawing board.

Talk to you later,

Susan.

This entry was posted in machine knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to >Jumper Update

  1. >very good, wonderfulirmatricomaquina.blogspot.com

  2. Sheryl says:

    >Don't feel too bad. It is disappointing but we all make things that we wind up not liking, or not being able to use. I just pulled several sweaters out of my UFO bin that are going to the womens shelter. I started them a while back for my g'son & never finished them. Now they are too small for him so off to charity they go. When I finish them. LOL Sheryl

  3. >It's a nice sweater/jumper, I would probably leave it in a basket for years…taking space and feeding the moths…oh…you must have something wonderful in mind. We shall see what beauty you design next. ^__^

  4. Susan says:

    >Thanks all.I don't have anything in mind yet but I will probably just end up knitting a plain boring old stocking stitch jumper.

  5. alex says:

    >the bottom is slightly thick but it dosn't look huge i don't think.oh yeah how do you make your own sweaters with knitwear

  6. Susan says:

    >Knit a tension swatch, enter your stitch and row readings, choose your gament style then generate the pattern.

  7. Anonymous says:

    >hello i love the things you make i am fairly new to machine knitting and i have bought an old bond machine and it came with an extention kit and i dont know how to attach it could you possibly help me.

  8. Susan says:

    >Turn it over, remove the metal rods, clip on the extension and replace the rods. If they aren't long enough you will need to use some nuts and bolts.

  9. Anonymous says:

    >i have turned it over and the only thing i have been able to remove is the rubber bugs at the ends of the machine i cant figure out how to remove the metal rods

  10. Susan says:

    >There should be a clip that looks a bit like a washer, you need to prise it off with some pliers. If that doesn't work I don't know what to suggest.

  11. Anonymous says:

    >yes there is clips i will try to get it off with some pliers i just didn't know what to take off i will try this thanks so much for your help

  12. alex says:

    >hi susan its alex again im thinking of getting a (new to me) standard gauge knitting machine because i am sick of my 700. and i see alot of people using brother machines are they any better than knitmasters? should i get a brother and not a knitmaster? im at a machine knitters dilema what should i do.

  13. Susan says:

    >I have no idea, I have never used a Brother machine.Why not try Google.

Comments are closed.