4ply Gloves

4ply GlovesThe pattern for these gloves is from a 1958 issue of Modern Knitting.

They are boy’s gloves, I knitted the largest size and they fit me perfectly.

The yarn I used is Regia self-patterning 4ply sock wool.

They were knitted on the Knitmaster 4500 which is a slightly different gauge to the modern standard gauge machines so you will probably have to use a different tension setting to that stated in the instructions.

gloves

Click to enlarge

This entry was posted in machine knitting, Patterns. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to 4ply Gloves

  1. K2p2ssk says:

    Keep on knitting and sharing!! You are wonderful to help inspire other knitters like yourself! Thank you!!!!

  2. Lynn says:

    these are gorgeous! Thanks for the pattern.

  3. Jane says:

    I decided to try these gloves Susy, I did the rib and the 28 rows. but got confused about the thumb opening the part which says “method as for buttonholes” then knit 22 rows. could you explain please?

    • susyranner says:

      Knit stitches 19 – 28 with a length of waste yarn, leaving them in work, then just knit the 22 rows. When the waste yarn is removed it will leave live stitches which you should put onto a stitch holder. These stitches will be used to make the two sides of the thumb.

      • Jane says:

        Thank you Susy, for answering my question. I’ll try it again over the weekend. I havn’t been machine knitting for long. So lots to learn but without the likes of people like yourself and also Diana Sullivan I wouldn’t have learned the amount I have so far. Love all your patterns and inspiration. thankyou for sharing.

        • jane says:

          TA DA!!! thanks to your help Susy, thankyou I managed to knit a glove. I did the rib part on the ribber and had short fingers and cast them off each time. keep up the good work.

          • susyranner says:

            That’s great! I must admit I had to look up the instructions on how to do the opening for the thumb (the method as for buttonholes) – I couldn’t remember how it was done.

      • I too had this question! Thank you for answering Susy!
        (In hand knitting this is called an “after thought” thumb)

  4. kevinallen2691 says:

    So I’m reading the pattern and just after knitting the rows following the thumb opening it says hang x# stitches from center back…. Does it mean center-back of hand? Does mean center of work? As many times as I read the directions before I started knitting this just doesn’t make sense.

  5. kevinallen2691 says:

    I gave it a go, and sorted it out. I made a glove out of scrap yarn just as a tester. I’ll finish sewing it and see how well I like it. I might be making one with yarn I actually like. 🙂

    • susyranner says:

      Glad you figured it out. I’m posting another glove pattern shortly that is knitted in a different way, you might prefer it over this one.

Comments are closed.