>New Gloves

>I looked through my old machine knitting patterns trying to find a pattern for fingerless gloves but I couldn’t find one so I decided to knit a pair of normal gloves instead.

The pattern I found was from a 1958 issue of Modern Knitting. These are boy’s gloves but I knitted the largest size and they fit me perfectly.

I used the vintage Knitmaster 4500 as that’s the machine that the pattern was written for so I didn’t have to fiddle about with the tensions to make it work on the modern standard gauge machine.

I think it took longer to sew them up than it did to actually knit them but I’m really pleased with how they turned out.

4ply Gloves

4ply Gloves (2)

I didn’t think I would have quite enough of the sock yarn so to be on the safe side I did the cuffs with some plain grey 4ply that I had. It’s just as well I did because looking at how much of the patterned stuff there is left I definitely wouldn’t have got the cuffs out of it.

You can find the pattern here.

Talk to you later,

This entry was posted in machine knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to >New Gloves

  1. >Hi! I'm glad I found your blog! I like to knit with a knitting machine, too, and have a part-time knitting business. How do you make gloves with a knitting machine? I mean, I know how to knit the thumb but what about other fingers? :O

  2. Susan says:

    >There's a link at the bottom of the post that takes you to the pattern instructions that I followed to make the gloves. It explains how to knit the fingers.

Comments are closed.