>Tuck Lace

>

Today I had a go at knitting some tuck lace patterns on the Silver Reed SK280:

Tuck Lace Samples

I used punchcards 2, 3 and 4 from the basic set, leaving certain needles out of work and setting the carriage to tuck to create the tuck lace effect.

The samples were knitted in 4ply at tension 6.

Card 2A
Needle positions:
..ll..llo..ll.. (needles out of work)
ll..ll..oll..ll (needles in work)

Tuck Lace Sample 1

Card 3A
Needle positions:
..ll.o.ll..ll (needles out of work)
ll..lol..ll.. (needles in work)

Tuck Lace Sample 2

Card 3A
Needle positions:
ll.ll…lol.ll…ll.ll… (needles out of work)
..l..lll.o.l..lll..l..lll (needles in work)

Tuck Lace Sample 3

Card 4A
Needle positions:
lll..ll..l.o.l..ll.. (needles out of work)
…ll..ll.lol.ll..ll (needles in work)

Tuck Lace Sample 4

All the instructions on how to arrange the needles were found in my old Modern Knitting magazines from the 70s.

I was trying to find a stitch pattern I could do just using the basic cards without having to punch my own and these were about the best I could find. I’m planning to knit a jumper using one of the patterns and having looked at the samples I think I’ll be choosing the top one. I think the middle two would be more suited to a Summer top or cardigan and the bottom one is just a bit too busy for my liking.

I will let you know how I get on with it.

Talk to you later,

This entry was posted in machine knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to >Tuck Lace

  1. Anonymous says:

    >The link to see your needle positions does not work. I can't figure them out from what you have typed. Could you try to explain…is that one row or two? Every other row?

  2. Susan says:

    >Sorry about that.I've re-typed it and replaced the spaces with full stops so they should all line up properly now.This is how the needles are positioned throughout the pattern.If you look at the two lines of l's, imagine you are looking down on your needlebed.The o represents the centre.Where there is a . on the top line, this means that the l below it is the needle in working position.Where there is a . on the bottom line, this means that the l above it is the needle in non-working position.Keep the needles set up like this as you work through the punchcard and you should end up with the patterns in the photos.Hope this helps.

  3. luisa italy says:

    Hallo Susan, grazie per aver descritto bene la posizione degli aghi. Io ho un modello Zaza magazine ma troppo difficile da interpretare e trovo simile uno dei pattern che tu hai spiegato. Io posso inviarti la foto e il modello giapponese, se vuoi. Grazie per tutto. Luisa

  4. Kim Åström says:

    I’m wondering how to cast on. If I do the usual cast on then how do I place the needles in non working position?

Comments are closed.