>Finally Finished

>

I’ve finally finished sewing up the Richard Poppleton Rimini Jumper:

Jumper Finished

The only thing I don’t like about it is the ribs. Because the yarn is a cotton mix there’s no stretch in it. I washed it after I’d finished it and when it had dried the ribs seem to have flattened out so they’re a bit flappy. If they get on my nerves too much I’ll have to sew some shirring elastic into them to tighten them up a bit.

The yarn is really soft, here’s a close up:

Knitting Close Up

You can’t really tell from the photo how soft it actually is, you’ll just have to take my word for it.

I’ve just finished sewing up a balaclava that I finished knitting a couple of years ago. It’s made from the same sock yarn as the scarf and gloves I made a few weeks ago, so I’ve got a matching set. Whether or not I’ll actually wear the balaclava is debatable – I’m more of a woolly hat person. We’ll see.

Talk to you later,

Susan.

This entry was posted in machine knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to >Finally Finished

  1. Monique says:

    >Just before I read your remark, I was thinking "That looks really soft."Great job Susan

  2. alex says:

    >another great sweater susan, lovley

  3. Susan says:

    >Thanks Monique and Alex.

  4. Picnicfan says:

    >I also like your sweater very much, Susan. The yarn is a beautiful colour and the ribs seem fine in the photo.

  5. Susan says:

    >Thanks Picnicfan.

  6. Sheryl Evans says:

    >I bought a cone of elastic thread on Ebay some years ago & I still have most of it left. I use it in cotton yarns etc. & also in socks on the CSM. If you can find one of them it will make a big difference in the ribs & help with socks staying up. I don't remember how much it cost but it wasn't much for what I recieved. Sheryl

  7. Susan says:

    >I didn't realise you could buy the elastic on cones, I was just going to use the shirring elastic on the little spool that I use with the cast on hem for the Bond. I'll have to look out for a cone, it will probably work out cheaper.

Comments are closed.