>Mitred Square Blanket

>

It’s finally finished.

Mitred Square Blanket

Mitred Square Blanket (2)

Mitred Square Blanket (4)

It’s taken just over three years to complete this and I have to say I will never knit another one – it just seemed to be never ending. It is staying on the bed forever!

 

Talk to you later,

This entry was posted in machine knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to >Mitred Square Blanket

  1. Phil says:

    >Well done Susan!!! It looks fantastic, Bet you are very pleased now its done. I think it looks amazing!

  2. Susan says:

    >Thanks Phil. I am pleased it's finished, it was driving me mad. Never again!

  3. Linda says:

    >I want one to!!!! Did you use the same yarn leftovers or is it differend qualities? How did you knit the squares…Liked it very much, you are great!

  4. Susan says:

    >Thanks Linda.I used all sorts of leftovers, wool, acrylic, 4ply, 3ply.this is how I made the squares.

  5. craftynorete says:

    >Beautiful ,I do like to make one too but first i have to try to knit few squares . is very good to used all my lefty overs yard , that is an double bed or queen size? how many squares you made . take care

  6. Lynne says:

    >That is gorgeous! I was reading back to when you started this. What an adventure. I won't give up on my hand crochet afghan. I keep losing interest in it. It's been only around 1 1/2 years.

  7. Sheryl Evans says:

    >That is just plain AWESOME!!!!

  8. Laritza says:

    >Congratulations! it might have taken a long time to complete, but it was worth it.

  9. Susan says:

    >Thanks everyone.I knitted 196 squares – 14 along each side. It's a double bed, not a queen size.

  10. Mausie1 says:

    >Beautiful..and I can understand that your glad its over but so well worth it… Hugs from South Texas..Birgit

  11. Susan says:

    >Thanks Birgit.

  12. Anna says:

    >Very nice blanket, a pleasing combination of colors!

  13. Susan says:

    >Thanks Anna.

  14. >It´s absolutley fabulous!!! 🙂

  15. Alex says:

    >This is like a piece of art work susan it really is beautiful I might start on one you really have given me some insperation so thankyou

  16. ~ Phyllis ~ says:

    >It's beautiful.

  17. Missy says:

    >I am so impressed! Beautiful!

  18. Susan says:

    >Thanks again everyone.

  19. >What a JOB! I quite understand that this will be the only one! Hugs, Synnøve from Norway

  20. Susan says:

    >Thanks Synnøve.

  21. Heather x says:

    >Wow Susan! May have taken along time but so worth it babe, colours are beautiful and I love how your eye travels up the bed following the pattern :)*hugs* Heather x

  22. Susan says:

    >Thanks Heather.

  23. Sue says:

    >It is beautiful Susan!

  24. Susan says:

    >Thanks Sue.

  25. Alex says:

    >Hi susan can these squares be knitted on a different gauge machine becsides standard gauge

  26. Susan says:

    >Probably, I haven't tried it though.

  27. Keeliey says:

    >I just LOVE it Susan. You've inspired me to sit down at my Passap Pinkie or my Duomatic 80, OR maybe even my Phildar Big Phil chunky single bed and knit some "pot holder" squares to make a bed cover. I want to knit a pair of "Pants" for the rear wheel of my bicycle. This would be a great way of making them!! Susan, did you use your Hague linker to connect the squares? I just love your videos too!

  28. Cerita says:

    >Oh Susan, it looks absolutely stunning! All that hard work has paid off in the end. It's a masterpiece! Well done!

  29. Susan says:

    >Thanks Keeliey and Cerita.I didn't use the Hague linker, I sewed it all up by hand.

  30. Rachael says:

    >It's fabulous! I LOVE it! You should be proud of yourself for sticking with it and seeing it through. It looks beautiful on your bed too.I too, like Lynne, am crocheting an afghan but mine has been 'hanging around' for a good two years I guess and I now feel inspired to see it completed.

  31. Susan says:

    >Thanks Rachael.

  32. Sophie says:

    >I can see why it took you a long while – that's the biggest Mitred Square project I've ever seen! Thanks to you, I know have an idea how to get rid of my yarn leftovers – I got addicted with the drum carder and the drop spindles that I made a lot of yarns for a couple of sweaters. I just wish I will be able to finish it like you. I admire your perseverance! Congratulations!

  33. Susan says:

    >Thanks Sophie.

  34. >Oh, it's beautiful, Susan. It was worth the wait. I did not relize it would be so huge–must have had mountains of socks to undo. Awesome workmanship! ^__^

  35. Susan says:

    >I only had to undo about half a dozen pairs of socks, just enough to knit the last few squares.

  36. >It's definitely worth the wait! It looks great! A very nice one to lay down to especially when it is perfectly made by you. Nice!

Comments are closed.