>How To Create A Pattern Using Knitware

>I was going to make a video showing how to create a pattern using Knitware. The start of it was to be filmed with the camera and the rest with some desktop recording software. It would have worked if my video editing software would have co-operated but as usual it decided to play silly buggers.

Instead I had to make two seperate videos which was a bit annoying as there’s only about 6 or 7 minutes of footage in total.

I recorded the desktop footage with some trial software so unfortunately there is a watermark right in the middle of the screen all the way through. There were also a couple of glitches in the recording but I don’t think they really spoil it.

Anyway, here are the two videos, I hope some of you find them useful.

I would recommend you watch the second one in full screen mode.

.

Visit www.greatknitdesigns.com for more information and to download the demo.

Talk to you later,

Susan.

This entry was posted in Knitware, machine knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to >How To Create A Pattern Using Knitware

  1. Alex says:

    >how did you download it and where and is it free or do you have to pay because i would like the software

  2. Phil says:

    >Hi Susan, thanks for the videos. I nearly emailed yu a couple of months ago asking about this software as i know you use it for some of your patterns. Do you have the full version? I did download the trial version but my computer thought it was a virus and i had all sorts of issues with my computer, infact it affected my wireless somehow and i kept being thrown off the internet. I dont know if you have come across any issues like these? Nice to see you have got back doing some knitting videos. Thanks again.Phil

  3. Susan says:

    >Alex – I've added a link to the website at the bottom of the post.You can download a free demo version there.Phil – I never had any issues when I downloaded Knitware, either with my old laptop or the one I'm using now. I'm using the full version although I had been using the demo for quite a while before I finally purchased the serial key.

  4. Bert says:

    >How wonderful is that.. I cant use this program because it is not supported on my pc. I have vista 64wah

  5. Phil says:

    >Will this work with 3ply? I have been knitting some 3ply up this afternoon and evening, and i am so mad right now as the finished pieces are far too small. I checked my tension and everything at the beginning. So annoyed with my self. If i do a tension square like you and measure it will it give an accurate pattern that will knit up to the right size? Thanks in advance Susan.

  6. Susan says:

    >It's a shame you can't use it Bert, it's a really useful piece of software.

  7. Susan says:

    >It will work with any yarn as long as you measure it accurately and enter the numbers into the program correctly. You need to know the exact rows and stitches to 4 inches.

  8. Phil says:

    >Thanks Susan. Sorry for all these questions, but did you knit the swatch as per the instructions in the Knitmaster instruction book, and also did you measure it using your green ruler or just a normal ruler?

  9. Susan says:

    >I knitted the swatch following the instructions in the knit radar book – cast on 70sts, knit 20 rows in main yarn then 2 rows with a contrast yarn. Knit 30 rows in main yarn, mark 21st stitch either side of 0, knit another 30 rows then 2 rows in contrast and a further 20 rows in main yarn.I washed and dried the swatch then measured it with the green ruler.

  10. Phil says:

    >Thanks Susan i will give that a go tomorrow.

  11. Phil says:

    >Susan, thanks for all your help. Did a tension swatch this morning and downloaded the software. Spent all day making a really nice keyhole neck sweater in the 3 ply and has knitted up lovely and more importantly at the right size. Thank you 🙂

  12. Susan says:

    >That's great, Phil. Do you plan on using the Knitware again?

  13. Phil says:

    >Hi Susan, yes definitely!!! Now that ive got the software working properly (on Mums computer, as mine in Windows 7) Think its a great piece of software, think i may invest in some mini scales like yours so i can weigh too as thats the problem with it most of the time – you have a bit of yarn left on a cone but you don't know what to make as you dont know how much you have got. I like how you can interchange what characteristics you want. For example with the top i did today i chose the grafted sleeve as a. its one less seam to sew up, and b. i hate increases on sleeves and much prefer decreasing.Will be interesting to try the software using my chunky 155.

  14. Susan says:

    >So you might never have to buy another knitting pattern again!

  15. P. Taylor says:

    >Hi Susan:I love this program. I've used it so much I can practically write a pattern without it. I've discovered that I could not get an acturate size using the standard size chart. I had to create a body form to get an accurate body size of self. 🙂

  16. Phil says:

    >Maybe not Susan! I really like the software and i like the fact that the pattern is made to the gauge of your own yarn and you dont have to match your yarn tension to a pattern (like what i did the other day and went horribly wrong!)I was having a play around on it last night and theres so many design options even including cowl necks and hoods! Great!!!

  17. Susan says:

    >Thanks for your comments, everyone.

  18. Rachael says:

    >I found this very helpful and interesting. I have Knitware Basics software and have yet to try using it. I may give it a go now as I really ought to use my knitting machines a little more often. Thanks for making the demos.http://knittingsnippets.blogspot.com

  19. Susan says:

    >Thanks, Rachael.

  20. Andrea says:

    >Yes, I have the Knitware Software which is a great help in my knitting. The only thing is I recently changed to Windows 7 from Windows XP and I had to get my husband to get virtual XP installed in the computer to support it. So bear this in mind if you are thinking of buying it.

  21. Susan says:

    >Thanks for the info, Andrea.

  22. P. Taylor says:

    >Hi Andrea!That is great news about virtual XP. I have the same problem. I purchased a Windows 7 labtop;was the virtual xp expensive?

  23. P. Taylor says:

    >Hi Susan:Can you tell us how to create different shaped garments using this program? Thanks

  24. Susan says:

    >You can see it in the video in the Style Component section. There are drop down boxes for you to choose the style (pullover or cardigan), shape (straight, fitted waist or A-line) and length (regular, hip, thigh, above knee, calf, ankle)

  25. Andrea says:

    >Hi P TaylorTo put Knitware on Windows 7, you need Windows 7 Professional, which I think cost about £40 to £50 more. I got this put onto my new computer from scratch. I do not know if you can add it on as such to Windows 7 which is already installed. Windows 7 Professional allows you to run programs in Virtual XP. Hope this helps

Comments are closed.