>Sleeveless Top Finished

>Light Blue Sleeveless Top

This was made using the pattern I created using Knitware in the last post. It was knitted on the Silver Reed SK280 using Patons Diploma Gold 4ply. It was supposed to have buttons and buttonholes but I decided to just have plain ribbed bands as the buttons would probably never be fastened anyway. If I have to I’ll sew a couple of press studs on but I don’t really think I’ll need to.

I bought the wool from a local yarn store using some vouchers that Billy bought me for Christmas. I still have another £40 to spend there so I’ll be making another visit shortly. I’m thinking of knitting myself a cardigan in DK but I haven’t decided for definite yet. My only gripe with cardis is that I always have trouble with the bands, I either make them too long, too short, too tight or too loose. I very rarely get them right first time so if I do decide to knit one there will no doubt be much shouting, swearing and temper tantrums. Maybe I’ll surprise myself and get it right first time. We’ll see.

Talk to you later,

This entry was posted in machine knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to >Sleeveless Top Finished

  1. Sheryl Evans says:

    >I have an extra large cardigan in my UFO basket waiting for someone to post on how to do a buttonhole band. Mine come out terrible too. Recently a friend sent me some instructions to make it easier & I am going to try them out, but on smothing smaller first. Sheryl

  2. Phil says:

    >Looks great Susan! I did the same with that 3 ply top, didnt do the buttonholes as a. i didnt think they would be used and b. i didnt want to mess it up as i had never done buttonholes using the ribber.

  3. Susan says:

    >Thanks Sheryl and Phil.The bands are the reason I hardly ever knit cardis even though they are useful to have. But as they say, practice makes perfect so I think I should give it a go.

  4. Alex says:

    >i have only ever made 1 cardi for my mums friends grandaughter it was ok but it was such a pain maybe it is just practice experience

  5. Susan says:

    >Jumpers are much easier!

  6. Jacki says:

    >That's lovely! I agree that buttons weren't necessary!

  7. Susan says:

    >Thanks, Jacki.

  8. Heather x says:

    >Beautiful top Susan :)I used knitware for the first time last week after watching your video, you helped me so much….thank you :)*hugs* Heather x

  9. Susan says:

    >You're welcome!

Comments are closed.