>Socks

>

Socks

I made the first of the navy 3ply socks last year but somehow never got around to knitting it’s partner until now.

I’ve had the ball of multi coloured 4ply sock wool for over a year so I thought it was about time I made some socks with it. It is a 100g ball and this pair used just under 50g so in theory there should be enough left to make a second pair. Knowing my luck I’ll run out with one or two rows still to knit.

 

Talk to you later,

This entry was posted in machine knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to >Socks

  1. Phil says:

    >Looking good Susan! You knit them on the 4500? I really need to get my Ribmaster sorted out, the needles need cleaning even more, dont know if its the carriage though, its a bit stiff. Would love to get it working. Maybe i might just have to be on the lookout for a new ribmaster though. I should really make some more socks, ive got plenty of finer 4 ply wools that need using up. By chance do you use the same pattern when knitting your socks in 3 ply compared to 4ply? or do you just alter the tension with the dial?Thanks, Phil

  2. Susan says:

    >Thanks Phil.I knit all my socks on the 4500. I've recently started to join the side using the sew as you go method so the only sewing up to do is the back seam – it's so much easier.For the 3ply sock pattern I mashed together a few different sets of instructions that I had and came up with my own pattern – that's how I created my 4ply pattern too. There's not that much difference in them really apart from the tension settings.

  3. Heather x says:

    >Beautiful socks Susan :)I really need to finish the jumpers I'm doing so I can get back to doing some socks :)*hugs* Heather x

  4. Susan says:

    >Thanks, Heather.

  5. Phil says:

    >Thats a great idea Susan – i can imagine the finished seam looks much neater than by hand. I really would love to get back into making some socks – i just need to find a pattern that works and is comfy. Its not easy to find good sock patterns for machines.

  6. Susan says:

    >Have you tried The Machine Knitter's Treasure Chest?

  7. Phil says:

    >I think i may have glanced at it, although really i should give it another look and try some of the patterns.

  8. Andrea says:

    >Hi. I like your socks. Are they knit from the pattern for flat socks on your blog.I would like to try to knit some socks as there is some lovely sock yarn about at the minute.

  9. Susan says:

    >Hi Andrea,I did use the flat sock pattern that's on my blog but instead of knitting 20 rows after the ribbing I knitted 40.

Comments are closed.