>Shadow Lace


I have finally had a go at knitting shadow lace using the shadow lace transfer tool that I bought a year and a half ago. It was a bit fiddly at first but once I got the knack it was really easy.

I tried the five punchcards that came with the tool and here are the results, showing the plain and purl side of each one:


Punchcard 21R



Punchcard 22R



Punchcard 23R



Punchcard 24R



Punchcard 25R


The last one was supposed to be done in two colours using the colour changer but I couldn’t be bothered to get the colour changer out and it’s that long since I’ve used it that I can’t remember how it works. I think it looks alright in just the one colour, apart from the obvious mistake where I opened the transfer tool too soon and dropped the stitches off it.

The little knots you can see in the samples aren’t mistakes, they are just joins in the wool – I was using leftovers and I had to join them together.

I quite like the purl side of punchcard 22R, I might use that for a jumper or a top some time in the future.

If you’ve never seen the shadow lace tool and want to know how it works, Diana made a video showing exactly what to do.

As you can see it is a very useful tool to have and I wish I hadn’t waited so long to try it out.


Talk to you later,



View the message board

This entry was posted in machine knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to >Shadow Lace

  1. Andrea says:

    >Very pretty. I have never heard of shadow lace before. I like 21 card. Does it take long to do?

  2. Susan says:

    >It doesn't take that long really, once you get used to the transfer tool.

  3. Lynne says:

    >Wow those swatches are really beautiful Susan. Thanks for sharing them. I'll check out Diana's video as I don't know what a shadow lace tool is.

  4. Susan says:

    >Thanks, Lynne.

  5. >I have to study Diana again! I cannot remember the shadow lace at all! You made me very curious! Synnøve

  6. Susan says:

    >Diana showed how to do the transfers, not the actual patterning with the punchcards.

  7. Phil says:

    >Wow the shadow lace tool opens up more opportunities for different patterns in knitting then. Refering to your video Susan – even more reason why the punchcard is so versatile. Love the swatches – espcially the purl side of 23R. Thanks for sharing them :-)

  8. Susan says:

    >Thanks, Phil. I haven't worked out yet which other punchcards I can use with this apart from the ones that came with it.

  9. Rachael says:

    >I'm another person who wasn't aware of Shadow Lace. I really like the swatches you have made and the results you get from the technique.

  10. Susan says:

    >Thanks, Rachael.

  11. Laritza says:

    >Lovely swatches! I need to get my machine out again. Too many things to knit are pending. Your demos are so inspirational and instructive. Thanks!

  12. Susan says:

    >Thanks, Laritza.

Comments are closed.