>Black Top

>

A couple of years ago I bought this from a charity shop for £1.50

Rowan Donegal Lambswool

Rowan Donegal Lambswool, roughly 5 ounces. It must have been somebody’s leftovers as it was all wound into tiny little balls. At first I thought it was about a 2ply weight but when I tried knitting it following a pattern for a 2ply top I realised it was more like a 3ply.

So I trawled through all my patterns and eventually found one for the Knitmaster 4500 for a simple top. I didn’t knit a tension swatch so I wasn’t sure how it would turn out. The photo on the pattern showed it to be quite close fitting but mine turned out to be a lot looser, which is good for me as I prefer them like that.

I didn’t have enough of the black wool but luckily had some leftovers from the leftovers that I used for the mitred square blanket and was able to finish it off with a couple of stripes.

Here’s what I ended up with

Black Top

It was supposed to have a folded hem but I decided to do a ribbed band instead as I thought it would use less wool.

The front is only knitted to the top of the burgandy stripe, the shoulders and top of the front are knitted as part of the back and joined at the top of the front.

This is what the back looks like

Black Top Back

I sewed it all up with the sewing machine which is something I wouldn’t normally do but I thought it would be easier and neater because of the hems I had to fold around the yoke. I sewed an extra line of stitching to flatten it out a bit more and I think it looks OK.

Yoke

I really didn’t expect this to be wearable when I started making it, I just wanted to knit something for the sake of knitting but I’m glad it turned out the way it did.

Talk to you later,

Susan.

View the message board

This entry was posted in machine knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to >Black Top

  1. Tracy says:

    >It looks great as usual! The construction is VERY interesting. I like it. Trying to decide if that style would look good on lumpy ol' me. And forgive me, but it never crossed my mind that you owned a sewing machine! 😉

  2. Susan says:

    >Thanks Tracy.My sewing machine is usually only used for making curtains although recently I have been altering some of my oversized tour T shirts so they fit me properly and I can actually wear them.

  3. Andrea says:

    >Lovely top. I like the neckline and use of stripes. Do you use ordinary sewing thread on the sewing machine. I have never tried joining up my knitting with a sewing machine but must try it as it seems to give a neat finish.

  4. Susan says:

    >Thanks Andrea.I did use ordinary sewing thread but it was only cheap stuff so I'm hoping it won't fall apart when I wash it.

  5. Phil says:

    >Great top Susan – as always! Unusual design, quite modern looking though which is good considering its a 4500 pattern. Did you do it on 4500 or SK280? I did a black vest top last year that i pieced together on the sewing machine, and it does give a really neat finish.

  6. Susan says:

    >Thanks, Phil.I knitted it on the Knitmaster 4500.

  7. Fibrebender says:

    >Using up leftovers is always a challenge and so satisfying when you end up with a usable/wearable piece. I like what you made. Congratulations!

  8. Susan says:

    >Thanks, Fibrebender.

  9. Rachael says:

    >Looks fabulous. What a bargain the yarn was and what a much more expensive looking garment you have made with it. Well done!

  10. Susan says:

    >Thanks, Rachael.

Comments are closed.