>Odd Buttons

>

I finished the sleeveless cardi. The only thing that’s wrong with it is the buttons – they’re not all the same. I have a tub full of buttons but I couldn’t find six the same that were suitable so I had to mix them. Four are a bluey grey and two are off white. I don’t suppose it matters really as this was only something I was trying out to use up the leftovers.

Cardi Front

Cardi Back

Cardi Left Side

Cardi Right Side

If I were to make another one, I think I’d do the back plain and for the front I’d do the wedges that are wide at the sides and taper to the centre in the same colour as the back, then do the wedges that are wide in the centre and taper to the sides in one or maybe two different contrast colours. As it is, I’m pleased with the way it turned out, especially as I didn’t know if it was going to work or not.

I still don’t know if I would wear it though!

Talk to you later,

Susan.

 

View the message board

This entry was posted in machine knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to >Odd Buttons

  1. >Awesome, cardi! I'm really interested in your technique. where did you get the idea to do short-row wedges? This is such a great way to use up left-over yarn!

  2. Phil says:

    >Fantastic Susan! Love it. Did you do your seams using yor Hague?

  3. Susan says:

    >Thanks lzbthmcmullen and Phil.I decided to try the short row wedges just to do something different for a change, instead of stripes. I vaguely remember seeing a jumper in one of the early Bond magazines that has short rowed patterning but I don't know if it was done the same way I did mine. I might try and find the pattern and see how they did it.I did use the Hague linker for the seams.

  4. Heather x says:

    >Oh come on Susan you know you wanna! Put the cardi on, you may be pleasantly surprised :)I think it looks awesome and truly unique! Even leave the odd buttons….it gives it character :)If your still unsure after wearing it for a day, send it here I'd wear it with pride 🙂 *hugs* Heather x

  5. Susan says:

    >Thanks Heather.Tomorrow. I'll wear it tomorrow. Definitely. I think.

  6. Ann says:

    >Love the wedge cardi. Just returned to machine knitting after 20 years. Bought a machine on ebay which needs new sponge bar and a good clean then I can start on all the yarn I haven't 'got round to' hand knitting. Your blog's an inspiration.

  7. Susan says:

    >Thanks, Ann.

  8. Jemajo says:

    >Amazing design, Susan!I especially love the colours and how you have placed them.I can just see this with a thin black belt, a white top, and a pale blue skirt on a summer's evening.Great cardi!!

  9. Susan says:

    >Thanks, Jemajo.

Comments are closed.