>Hooded Jumper Finished With

>I finished the hooded jumper and it’s terrible. The body is too short, the sleeves are too tight and the hood is too big. I don’t know where I went wrong but I obviously made a mistake somewhere, possibly with the tension swatch. I should maybe have made a much bigger swatch than I did which would have meant using the same amount of weight as I did on the actual jumper. Making a small swatch meant that I used less weight so it probably affected the measurements.

I’ll pull it all out and re-make it but this time on the Silver Reed SK280. I need to make a new tension swatch and I’ll be extra careful when I measure it. I’ll probably use the Knit Radar and just make a plain crew or v neck.

Talk to you later,

Susan.

View the message board

This entry was posted in Misc. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to >Hooded Jumper Finished With

  1. Andrea says:

    >Hi Susan – I hate when that happens. After all your hard work. At least you can rip it out and start again. Best Andrea

  2. Susan says:

    >That's one of the good things about machine knitting. If I'd spent weeks and weeks knitting it by hand and it turned out wrong I'd be devastated.

  3. Sheryl Evans says:

    >Hi! I'm sooo sorry that the hoodie didn't turn out the way you planned. It's always a bummer when something like that happens, & I think we've all had it happen. I would try the hoodie again. It just makes me more determined when things don't turn out quite like I wanted. Sheryl

  4. Susan says:

    >Maybe I will try the hoodie again. I'll knit a new tension swatch then I'll decide what to do.

  5. Jemajo says:

    >I'm sorry Susan, for the disappointment, but maybe it will be easier the second time around when you have already made a "trial" ? When I was making Flowers of Spring I had a similar problem with weights and mismatched gauge between swatch and full size. The only solution I had, was to take the total weight of all weights and combs, and the number of stitches and do a little maths. A pain in the neck, but by making sure that I had the same amount of weight per 20/30/40 stitches as I had used for the swatch, I matched the tension perfectly on the tunic. I'd love to know if there is an easier way of doing it?

  6. Susan says:

    >I don't know if there is an easier way to work it out.I've decided not to re-knit it on the Bond and I've already swatched and created a pattern for the SK280 version of the jumper.Hopefully this time I'll have more luck with it.

  7. Z of ZKNITZ says:

    >You should have posted a picture so you could get a second opinion.Know what I mean?Sometimes we are our most harshest critics.But that's just my own opinion.

  8. Susan says:

    >To be honest there was no point in posting a picture, the jumper didn't fit me at all so I knew I would be pulling it out and starting again.

  9. Rachael says:

    >Ouch! What a pain but it will feel so good when you finally get it right.

  10. Susan says:

    >I know. I've re-started it today so it sholdn't take long to get it finished.

Comments are closed.