More Yarn

I was in town today for a job interview so as I was already in town I decided to have a wander round the charity shops, just on the off chance that one of them would have some wool for sale.

Here’s what I came home with:

Cone Of Pink Yarn

A full cone (500g) of pink yarn which appears to be 4ply. The label says “D. BRUNTON, DES. YARNS, DE-LUX, SHADE 9, DYE 3”

I did the bleach test on it and it was, as I suspected, acrylic. Not that I mind acrylic but it’s nice to know that I’m probably not going to ruin whatever I knit with it by washing it on the wrong cycle.

I haven’t decided what I’m going to knit with it yet and pink isn’t a colour I would normally wear but for only £2.95 I couldn’t pass it by.

 

Blue Yarn
650g of a light blue synthetic yarn for £3.50. I didn’t need to do the bleach test on this one, I could tell just from looking at it that this definitely has no wool in it. In fact, after I got it home and had a proper look at it I wished I hadn’t bought it. I remember trying to knit a similar yarn without any success. Maybe this one will knit up better.

I have a Knit Radar pattern for a cap sleeved top and I was thinking I might try a tuck lace stitch pattern.

 

Green Yarn

60g of a random green 4ply for £1. When I saw it I thought “socks” but it wasn’t until I got it home and read the label properly that I realised it’s courtelle/nylon which probably isn’t the best yarn to use for socks.

 

That’s all I bought, I didn’t go to any more shops after I’d bought it, I just went straight home. I shouldn’t really have bought any of it – that money was supposed to be for food. Oh well, jam and bread’s not that bad, is it?

Talk to you later,

Susan.

This entry was posted in Misc and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to More Yarn

  1. Thanks for the bleach tip.

    • susyranner says:

      If the yarn disintegrates in the bleach it’s wool, if it doesn’t then it’s probably acrylic – I should have said that in the post.

  2. alex says:

    nice find susan especially the pink yarn for that price all that yarn looks really think in the pictures maybe it is because it is really close up.

    • susyranner says:

      I was especially pleased with the pink, it’s not often I manage to find a full cone in the charity shops.

  3. alex says:

    yeah you are so right i often find lots of oddments in my local charity shop but not usually a full skein or cone, and i think you would suit pink susan, maybe you could do a short sleeve top in tuck stitch or something that would be nice, but just a suggestion.

    • susyranner says:

      I think, seeing as I’ll have enough yarn, that I will make something with long sleeves. Thanks for the suggestion.

  4. Maureen says:

    love the pink yarn too. I use acrylic yarn and find if you wash it on low heat it is fine. Tumble drying brings it right back into shape. I tend to shrink real wool very easily so acrylic is my preferred choice. I tend to err on the lazy side though. If I can’t wash it in a washing machine and tumble dry it, I don’t want it lol. Love your blog and the garments you make.

  5. susyranner says:

    Thanks, Maureen.
    I had a disaster a couple of months ago when I put an all wool top in the machine on the wrong cycle.It came out tiny. I’m thinking of making it into a cushion cover.

  6. Johanna says:

    Woh nice yarn, great colors. What do you made with this yarn?

    • susyranner says:

      I haven’t decided what I’m making with it yet, I’m still thinking about it.

  7. irishagold says:

    Susan, thank you for the bleach tip!
    I like your yarn findings. I always loved combinations of gray and pink. You might try and see if it appeals to you.

    • susyranner says:

      Grey and blue is also a good combination – at least I think so. I usually mix colours due to not having enough of one colour to complete a garment. Sometimes it’s surprising how well certain colours go together when you wouldn’t expect them to.

Comments are closed.