Bad Yarn

I tried knitting with the blue yarn that I bought yesterday. Oh my goodness, it was terrible.

I tried doing a tuck stitch pattern with punchcard number one and was fighting with the carriage all the way.

Then I tried knitting knitting it on every other needle, this time using punchcard number two, still in tuck stitch but it was just as bad.

I thought it might have been because the tension was too tight, I had started at tension 7. I tried moving it up one number at a time but even at tension ten it was having none of it. I’m sure this is 4ply so it should have been alright. I think the problem is that there’s no stretch in it whatsoever. I remember having the same problem with a similar type of yarn once before and I ended up throwing it all away.

I’m going to have a go at knitting it on the Bond but I’m not expecting the results to be any better.

The only other thing I can think to do with it is use it as the weaving yarn in knit weaving.

I could even get the weavemaster out again – it hasn’t seen the light of day for a long time. I don’t know what I would make though (and I’m still waiting for Billy to get round to making the second bracket for it so I can attach it to the knitting machine)).

I wish I’d never bought that yarn.

This entry was posted in machine knitting, weaving and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Bad Yarn

  1. alex says:

    hi susan I was just gonna say you could try knitting it on the bond with old keyplate 1 but could still be a bit to loose, you could see if it works any better knitting it on the knitmaster 4500.

  2. Maureen says:

    Too bad about the blue yarn. The pink should knit up OK as it is cone yarn and probably made for machine knitting.

    I started a knitting blog today. I had been posting about the knitting on another blog I keep about day to day living but it has a lot of stuff about my husband’s illness in it so only really interesting for me to keep as a record. I thought though that the knitting aspect alone might be helpful to anyone else who is either learning or starting up again after many years as I am. I transferred all the knitting posts to this new blog.

    It is called ‘I like making things’ and the website address is:-

    ilikeknittingandsewing.blogspot.com

    I would love it if you would check it out and direct any knitting people to it.

    Thanks,

    Maureen

    • susyranner says:

      I’ll put it in the blog list in the sidebar.
      I know I shouldn’t laugh but I thought what you did with the backwards shaping on the front of the jumper was funny. believe me, you’re not the only one to make daft mistakes like that – I speak from experience!

  3. Alex says:

    I forgot to say if you can get the blue yarn knitting on another machine let us know how you get on.

  4. Maureen says:

    In hindsight it was funny. Thanks for adding me to your site.

  5. Pingback: That Blue Yarn Again « My Knitting Machines And Me

  6. Pingback: Knit Weave Fail « My Knitting Machines And Me

Comments are closed.