Jumper Update

Blue Jumper Front
Slow progress on this jumper but there’s not much more to do so it should be finished soon.

I still hate that blue yarn, it’s awful. When it’s knitted up it feels like crimplene, really cheap and nasty.

The worst thing about it is trying to wind the hanks into balls, it takes forever. It just tangles up all the time and is really difficult to sort out. I’ve never known a yarn like it. When I bought it from the charity shop one of the hanks had already been wound into a ball. I wouldn’t mind betting that the person who did that decided that it was too much trouble and palmed it off on the charity shop. Then I came along and bought it, like the mug that I am, thinking I’d found myself a bargain.

I’m in the middle of winding off a hank, I’ve been on with it two hours and I’m only about two thirds of the way through it. I’ve given up. It can wait until tomorrow.

This truly is the yarn of Satan.

Talk to you later,

Susan.

 

View the message board

This entry was posted in machine knitting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Jumper Update

  1. Patrice says:

    Hi Susan:

    That blue yarn must be mixed with nylon? I have yarn like that too. I use it to knit my cast-on rags.

    I wish there was a store near me where I can go touch and feel yarn samples. It is difficult to purchase new yarns on the Internet.

    Patrice

  2. Denise says:

    I bet that new sweater is going to the charity shop isnt it? Cause if you cant stand it now when it isnt complete you really wont like it when you try it on.

  3. Prizilla says:

    Hi susan, I “accidently” found your website and, forgive me, I had a good laugh. I have just decided and promised myself to stop knitting with other materials than the real ones. I think I have it in return by beeing a satisfied “knitterbitch”:)).
    Prizilla

    • susyranner says:

      Usually I’ll knit with anything, wool, acrylic, cotton, blends but this blue stuff – I’ve never known anything like it. The jumper will probably be OK once it’s been washed but even if it’s not I’ve learnt my lesson – don’t buy rubbish yarn just because you like the colour.

  4. Pauline says:

    Hi Susan

    I can’t remember whether you said you had pre-washed the yard – hope, after all your hard work, it doesn’t end up fitting Sindy – done that myself!!

    Pauline x

  5. Pauline says:

    Obviously I meant – pre-washed the wool (my phone texting isn’t much better!)

    Ha! – Pauline x

Comments are closed.