Tuck Stitch Jumper

I finished the tuck stitch jumper:

Tuck Stitch Jumper

The neck is a little bit tighter than I would have liked but that’s my fault for not picking up enough stitches for the neckband. It’s not so tight as to be uncomfortable so I’m not too concerned about it.

I used the Knit Radar pattern that I copied from a KR7 sheet to  KR6 sheet and the jumper fits so I must have done it right.

I made a stupid mistake with the sleeves. The cuff had to be added on at the end so I started them off with waste yarn then went straight onto the tuck stitch pattern. It wasn’t until I went to re-hang the first row to do the cuff that I realised it was almost impossible to find the right stitches to hang. To make matters worse I had knitted both the sleeves – if I’d only done one then realised my mistake it wouldn’t have been so bad.

So I had to pull them both out and start them again, only this time I knitted a couple of plain rows before I started the tuck stitch pattern. That made it much easier to re-hang them for the cuffs.

I will have to remember that one for future reference.

Talk to you later,

Susan.

 

View the message board

This entry was posted in Knit Radar, machine knitting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Tuck Stitch Jumper

  1. Margaret Cummings says:

    That looks terrific !!
    I’m still looking at a pair of gloves I knit, The right hand is great, but the left hand trying to reverse the thumb I went wrong somewhere with the fingers !! Guess it is back to the knitting machine and try again. But, I have just made three big jars of Tomato Chutney from todays pickings from the greenhouse.

    • susyranner says:

      If you can’t get the left glove to knit up properly you could always knit another right one then wear it inside out on your left hand! Alright, it will look a bit odd but sometimes you’ve just got to improvise haven’t you?

  2. Bibbi says:

    Thanks for letting us know about your mistake with the sleeves. I’m a beginner and glad for all mistakes I don’t have to do.

    • susyranner says:

      Despite making the mistake this time I’m bound to do it again. Then when I’ve done it I’ll remember that I shouldn’t have – too late.

  3. Maureen says:

    It looks great Susan. Did I ever mention that I love that colour lol? The neckline looks perfect for the sweater.

    Like the previous poster I am thankful for the information about the sleeves.

    Looking forward to getting my knit radar patterns in the post. Hope they come soon, I am itching to start on my next project.

    • susyranner says:

      It would have been alright if I’d knitted it plain or in fairisle. I was calling myself a few names when I realised what I’d done, I can tell you!

  4. Lynne Miles says:

    Great tip on rehanging tuck stitch.

  5. Sheryl Evans says:

    That is sooo beautiful!! I absolutely love it!! Could you have knitted a couple of rows plain on the sleeves & then just transfer the stitches to the ribber & do a ‘loop through loop’ bind off on the cuffs?? They look great the way you did them tho. Sheryl

    • susyranner says:

      Thanks, Sheryl.
      The cuff had fewer stitches than the start of the sleeve which is why I started with waste yarn and added the cuff on afterwards.
      The problem was that after I’d knitted the waste yarn and joined the main yarn I went straight to the tuck stitch.
      When I turned it upside down to re-hang it, it was impossible to find the right loops to hang on the needles because of the tuck stitches.
      It was easier just to re-knit the whole sleeve but start off with a couple of plain rows after the waste yarn. That way I was able to re-hang the first row onto the machine without any problems.
      I finished it off as you described only I used the linker to cast it off.

  6. Phil says:

    Looks fantastic Susan! You had 500g yes? That’s great you got a tuck stitch jumper out of it. Its a nice colour and probably one of the nicest tuck patterns i have seen in a while.

    • susyranner says:

      Thanks, Phil.
      I think I should have a look through the other punchcards that I’ve accumulated and see what other patterns I can come up with.

  7. Alex says:

    It looks wonderful Susan I must get that punchcard punched out it really is pretty, I am really looking forward to seeing your next project, I need to keep knitting I havn’t been knitting much this past week, I have got the front and back knitted for that slip stitch jumper I just need to do a post, that is all I have done as I have been busy with college work 😦

    • susyranner says:

      Thanks, Alex.
      I think I’m doing something with knit weaving next to use up the last of that awful blue yarn but I need to buy some yarn for the base colour.

  8. Roberta says:

    Love your work and your videos has helped many that I have talked with. We are human and will make mistakes, we should learn from them but I find myself making the same mistakes many times over. Now when it comes to button/button hole bands and collars, I never do what the pattern tells me as most the time I cannot get the same stitches as the pattern calls for. Even when I had done them using the radar/contour/leader. But at least those accessories help us to make up the garments with no pattern involved.

Comments are closed.