Creating A Knit Radar Pattern From A Written Pattern

Here’s a useful reader’s tip that I found in Modern Knitting from March 1975:

Mrs K of Preston has her own method of adding to her store of Knit Radar patterns. She finds any knitting pattern that she likes (hand or machine) sets the Radar to the number of rows and stitches given in the pattern, feeds a blank sheet of paper into the Radar, turns the roller and marks the shape (in pencil) as she goes by following the number of stitches given.

When finished, she has a dot-to-dot pattern which gives a clear outline (you can easily join up the dots) and can be used for different yarns, stitches and tensions. She has found that this works for a wide variety of garments.

I tried it and it seems to work although I haven’t actually knitted anything using the pattern I created. The only thing I did differently was to advance the sheet using the carriage, as if I was actually knitting but with no yarn threaded. I think this way is more accurate as the pattern will advance only as much as it needs to whereas if you were moving it by hand you could take it a bit too far.

I think it’s a brilliant idea and is something I certainly wouldn’t have thought of myself, what do you think?

Talk to you later,

Susan.

This entry was posted in Knit Radar, machine knitting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Creating A Knit Radar Pattern From A Written Pattern

  1. Christine says:

    I’m a beginner, so maybe a stupid question, but how do you work out the tension to achieve the right size? Does a hand knit stitch equal a machine knit stitch? I like this idea as there is a much wider choice of patterns available for hand knitting.
    Christine

    • susyranner says:

      Just go by the tension stated in the written pattern and use the appropriate scales and row settings on your Knit Radar. It might be a little trickier to convert a hand knitting pattern as it will probably tell you to knit until your work is a certain length in inches or cm, you would have to work out how many rows that is so you can transfer it to your Knit Radar pattern.
      Then, as Alysha says, you can use your finished pattern with your chosen yarn and tensions.

      • Christine says:

        AAh, now I get it. This is a brilliant idea. I’ll definately try this when I get a bit more experienced. Thankyou and thanks Susan for posting this.

  2. Alysha says:

    This is just for a paper radar pattern. Once you have your pattern drawn, you would make a tension swatch in your chosen yarn and knit as you would from any knit radar pattern.

  3. Maureen says:

    Thanks for posting this. That’s a great idea.

  4. glenys says:

    is the pattern on a kr6 just smaller in width ans lenght .

    • susyranner says:

      On the KR6 sheets you only see half of the item you are knitting, for example the right side of a jumper or sleeve. On the KR7 you see the full thing – both the left and right sides. The length is the same.

  5. glenys says:

    im finding my patterns are too long i dont think much can go wrong with a knitradar as its still turning ok

    • susyranner says:

      I’m not sure what you mean when you say your patterns are too long.
      If your finished items are coming out too long you might not have the row setting correct on the knit radar. There is a switch to change it between 30-60 and 60-120.

  6. nina gogochuri says:

    hi,i have kr7 and it has not pattern sheets,which kind of patterns i must to use,someone could help me please,thanks

    • susyranner says:

      You need to buy the patterns that are made for the KR7 which are wider than the ones for the KR6.

      • ninachancee says:

        hi susy,thank you for your quick reply,you are as my god,i have not found any ladies ready knitting patterns for kr7,if i want to draw my own pattern what kind of paper i must tu use in this case,thank you in advance

        • susyranner says:

          Plain lining paper (wallpaper) works, you just need to cut it to the correct width – I think it’s about 13.5 inches on the KR7. I suppose any decent paper would do the job.

          • Linda says:

            Hi Susy,
            Thank you , you are a star. I have the knitmaster 700 without stitch scales and patterns. I have found your jpeg files for the stitch scales (thanks) and printed them out and laminated them (hope they will be ok). Now I am after the patterns, I keep an eye on Ebay but none so far. Any way, I will try this method and see if I can produce some patterns. There is one thing I don’t understand. You can set the radar on 1/1 or 1/2. If I produce my own pattern will it be 1/1 (silly question maybe but to me it does not look like a full size pattern)/ Thanks

  7. Pingback: V Neck Jumper With Button Front And Three Quarter Length Sleeves | My Knitting Machines And Me

  8. KineretT says:

    What a brilliant idea! Thanks for sharing it. A lot of patterns today come with a scaled drawing but your tip has just enabled me to use the ones that don’t!

Comments are closed.