That Jumper Again

I finally started sewing buttons onto some of the finished pieces of the jumper which gave me a chance to find out if it was going to work the way I’d planned it. I am pleased with the way it’s turned out so I don’t think I’ve been wasting my time knitting all the different panels.

I wish I’d had enough of the light blue wool to make the lower sleeves but unfortunately I ran out.

In my original plan there was going to be some patterned panels but I don’t think that’s going to happen now. There may be one or two stripey panels but to be honest I think the plain ones look alright.

I still have some more knitting and sewing up to do but at least now I can start wearing the jumper at long last. I realise it won’t be to everyone’s taste and it certainly won’t set the fashion world on fire but as it’s me who will be wearing it I’m not bothered.

Talk to you later,

Susan.

View the message board

This entry was posted in machine knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to That Jumper Again

  1. ella says:

    What a great idea! I really like them a lot.
    Congratulations, Susan!
    ella

  2. Maureen says:

    I think they’re fabulous Susan. So many combinations. Excellent idea and I’m sure everyone who sees them will think the same and be green with envy. Way to go!!!

  3. Sylvia Moore says:

    Susan, I think it turned out just great. I love the way you are always willing to try new things and to share them with us. When it doesn’t work out right the first time you don’t give up. You are an inspiration to all of us. Thank you.

  4. heike says:

    Love this idea! Looks great!

  5. I love it i am thinking about buying a knitting machine but have no idea where to start. Any recommendations? thank you i find your blog very interesting

    • susyranner says:

      It all depends on the thickness of the yarn you will be using, there are different types of machine you can go for – fine gauge, standard gauge, mid gauge or bulky/chunky.

      Brand new machines are quite expensive but if you’re buying a second hand one it might have parts missing.

      Do you want to hand manipulate the stitch patterns or do you want the machine to do it automatically? You could go for a punchcard machine or an electronic. There are pre-punchcard machines from the 60s that rely on dials and buttons to create the patterns.

Comments are closed.