Using The Knitmaster Seam Maker

About three years ago I managed to buy a Knitmaster Seam Maker from ebay. It is a machine that was made in the early 1960s for sewing up your knitting and works like a hand cranked sewing machine.

The needle is just like a knitting machine needle except the hook is a V shape rather than a U shape. Unfortunately the needle on my machine was broken so I used a normal knitting machine needle which I cut down to the right length using the broken needle as a guide.

I managed to get it working but kept breaking needles and the work wouldn’t feed properly so in the end I just put it away and forgot about it.

A few weeks ago I got it out again and started fiddling about with it, eventually getting it to work more or less as it should.

I increased the pressure on the presser foot by tightening the screw nearly as far as it would go. Then I reduced the stitch size which stopped the work from puckering.

It’s not perfect (having the wrong needle doesn’t help) but it’s usable.

You might wonder why I bothered messing about getting this machine to work when I’ve got a Hague Linker. Well, I enjoy the challenge and I just like using old machines.

Talk to you later,

Susan.

 

This entry was posted in Misc and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Using The Knitmaster Seam Maker

  1. Hilde says:

    What a fun old machine!
    Thank you for showing it.
    I will be looking out to see if I can find one. And I totally understand about enjoying a challenge!

  2. steel breeze says:

    You might try:

    Groz-Beckert U.K. Ltd.
    Groz-Beckert House
    Gloucester Crescent, South Wigston
    Leicester LE 18 4YL
    United Kingdom

    +44 116 2643500 contact_gbuk@groz-beckert.com

    It’s a long shot, but you never know. I got a set of machine needles for my CSM from here.

  3. Kathe Lewis says:

    Hi Susan,
    If you still have the broken old needle, I might be able to get the right shape of a new one for you…if all else fails, contact me
    Kathe, Denmark
    http://www.mycrafts.dk

  4. Maureen Bruner says:

    I just love your videos and blog! What a neat machine. I am envious!

    Maureen

  5. Marge Reppenhagen says:

    I did not know there was a machine out there like this .thanks for showing it. Now I will be on the look out for one.And if I find one .I will also check for needles
    Marge

  6. Truffuls says:

    I love old machinery! I grew up in my father’s auto repair shop and I love to tinker. What an awesome find. I ‘d love to get one of these. I have a chain stitch hand crank sewing machine but I’d prefer to use yarn to seam.

    Thanks for sharing! You are such an inspiration to me!

  7. Monique says:

    This was interesting. I have never even seen or heard of one of these.
    I really do want a Hague linker though. Definitely in my future!
    Thanks for sharing Susan!

  8. I have never seen one of these before and found your film very interesting. I too have a Hague Linker (an electric one) which I have never used; I’ve had it since 2003!!

  9. Judi Fisher says:

    Hi, I volunteer at a charity (www.workaid.org) that services machines and tools before sending them to projects in Africa and we were recently given a seam maker like yours. Thanks for your video, it was a great help! I’ve had a bit of trouble with the feeder mechanism getting out of sync but think I’ve found the trouble. The needle is very similar to an ordinary machine needle just slightly fuller with a pointed end.
    Judi

  10. Brenda Gould says:

    I have just bought a seam maker on ebay just because I loved the look of it, but I would like it to work !! it has 2 needles with it but they do not close up, they both spring back I don’t think this should happen so I will try a cut off machine needle, no instructions supplied, and I can’t seem to find any on the net, so I am not sure how to alter the size of the stitches and am afraid to fiddle to much any tips thanks Brenda

  11. Moya says:

    Hi I loved watching your video it really helped as I have a very similar machine ( if not the same) that I think was my mums, and I had no idea what it was used for, I’m thinking of putting it on eBay any ideas how much if I did ??
    Thanks moya

  12. Brenda says:

    I wouod like the a copy of instructions if anyone can help

Comments are closed.