Merry Christmas To You All

I have no Christmas knitting to show you so instead I’ll share a few seasonal pages from an old Modern Knitting magazine.

How about a few beauty gifts to hang on the tree?

I would have thought that the women’s perfumes would have cost the most but it’s the Busy Man’s Bar that comes out at the most expensive at a whopping twenty three shillings and sixpence. Don’t ask me how much that would be in today’s money as I have no idea. I don’t know much about pre-decimalisation money either – I’m much too young, I was only about six or seven when we changed to ‘new pence’.

How about some Christmas recipes?

So is anyone going to have a go at making the snowman cake? What a faff on! I think I’ll give that one a miss, although it would look cute sitting on the table on Christmas day.

Finally, some knitting. Here’s the pattern for the dress that’s shown on the front cover of the magazine.

If you don’t want to knit the dress, just have a read of your stars for December 1958 and see if they are relevant for you in 2011.

Mine says “far too much dislocation of plans, nothing turns out as expected, yet this month has plenty of sparkling moments. Health is good, so are your finances.”

Can’t say it’s all that relevant for me, I had a stinking cold last week and as for my finances the less said the better. Although ‘Nothing turns out as expected’ – that could be a description of my knitting.

I hope you all have a great Christmas.

Talk to you later,

Susan.

This entry was posted in Misc. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Merry Christmas To You All

  1. Susan, have a great xmas and a happy new year.
    btw are you still getting my posts, Harry

  2. Karla says:

    I love going into the past! Thank you for sharing.

    Merry Christmas to you and yours!

  3. Susan, i’m wondering if you would vote for me in the final of an award please at the link below, thank you , Harry.

    http://thedarkglobe.wordpress.com/2011/12/20/the-inaugural-dark-globes-artist-awards-voting-has-begun/

  4. Sylvia Moore says:

    Merry Christmas Susan. Your inspiration and willingness to share are a great gift to me. Happy New year and best wishes to you.

  5. johanna says:

    Merry christmas to you and your family. Johanna.

  6. Bijoux says:

    Hey thanks for that trip down memory lane. I was born in 52 and LOVED Morny French Fern, which I used to buy in the 60s. My first taste of decadence. 23/6p is £1.17.5p. Average wage @ £850 p.a. = £70 per month, sooooooooooo I think it would be the equivalent of buying a ‘celebratory’ set of about £12-£15 but not a designer one.

    But thanks for the prompt, Once I googled it I found it’s still being sold. Brilliant.

  7. Virginia in Atlantic Canada says:

    thank you for this nice trip down memory lane … for my mother! lol. My very best wishes for a wonderful 2012 of machine knitting are included here.

Comments are closed.