Socks

SocksI haven’t done much knitting lately, I’m suffering from a lack of inspiration.

I’ve been using up what’s left of the wool from the mix and match jumper(s) by making socks. I started off with a yellow pair, then a green and white pair. Then I decided just to knit all the wool up into socks without bothering if they matched or not. I knitted three navy ones, all different shades though it doesn’t show in the photo.

It doesn’t matter if I wear odd socks, nobody can see them when I’m wearing them so why do they need to match? I will just keep on knitting up all the odd balls and as long as they all come out more ot less the same size they’ll be alright – I’m not proud!

Once they’re all sewn up and ready to wear I’m going to renovate all the socks in my sock drawer. Most of them have been darned over the previous darns. I’ll re-knit them all but discard the parts of them that are worn out. I’ll get less pairs of socks out of them but at least the toes won’t all be darned.

That’s the plan anyway.

Talk to you later,

Susan.

 

View the message board

This entry was posted in machine knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Socks

  1. I’m not a machine knitter, but I also use up leftover sock yarn for new socks. I don’t care if they match and neither does my family, who is always begging for more wool socks.

  2. Marybeth P. says:

    Since it is very trendy to knit a pair of socks that are mismatched or the reverse of the other, you are right in style!

  3. Denise says:

    You’ve chosen my favourite colours for those,they look so fresh.My daughter bought me some long fingerless mittens for Christmas, I wore them once and now cannot find them anywhere! So sad, they were lovely and warm.

  4. Heather x says:

    Great socks babe, love the colours, mismatch is the new fashion isn’t it lol.
    Over on Ravelry (machine knitting group), some are knitting fairisle socks….that’s a great way to use up odd balls of sock yarn.

    *hugs* Heather x

  5. Helen Nix says:

    What a wonderful idea!!! Think I will do that also. Thanks for the idea. Helen

  6. Naomi says:

    Hello Susan, I just found your site, while browsing. Since I’m thinking about getting a knitting machine, I always look for inspiration/guidance 🙂 Your projects are beautiful and I’m actually really into the mix and match jumper. I just love versatile pieces and this is one I have never ever seen before! Great work!
    I know you are busy, but I have two questions and I would really be very grateful if you could just very briefly answer them.
    Do you think the Ultimate Sweater machine would be a good (affordable 🙂 way to start machine knitting (for a constantly broke college student)?
    What yarns do you use and where would I get them? I was thinking about that, when seeing your jumper pictures with the big cones of yarn.
    I’m sorry if these questions are trivial/stupid, but I have never been a knitter type of gal – more into sewing.
    Thank you for this great blog, I really enjoyed your projects! Take care,

    Naomi

    • susyranner says:

      My first machine was a Bond, not the USM but the original. I found it very easy to use but I know that others have difficulty with it. It will knit most hand knitting yarns including DK, aran and chunky. It doesn’t have any built in pattern capabilities so anything apart from plain stocking stitch has to be hand manipulated.

      The machine I use most now is a standard gauge which uses finer yarns such as 3 and 4ply (fingering) and fine DK. It has a built in punchcard mechanism which enables it to knit fair isle, tuck and slip automatically. The metal machines work differently to the Bond so going from one to the other is not as simple as you might expect.

      Also, the metal machines are a lot more expensive than the Bond.

      I would say buy yourself a Bond and see how you go with it. If you can get the hang of it you will probably be hooked. If you’re happy with what you are producing with it, it will be your friend for years. If you find that you want to be able to do more and with finer yarns, look for a second hand standard gauge machine.

      That would be my advice though others may have a different opinion.

  7. Naomi says:

    Thank you so much for the information, Susan! I think I will probably follow your advice. Jumping in and getting a knitting machine that costs several hundred dollars when I have never even knitted a decent sweater before seems kind of wrong 🙂 Although, my sewing machine and serger are probably the two most expensive things I own and I’m very happy I spent that money. There’s nothing like having a reliable machine that produces constantly good work.
    Have a great week,

    Naomi

Comments are closed.