A question was posted on the message board asking if you have to use a punchcard when doing two-colour knitting. I linked to the above post in my reply and thought I might as well re-blog it here for anyone who is interested.

 

View the message board

My Knitting Machines And Me

>A few weeks ago someone landed on my blog by Googling ‘knitting fair isle without a punchcard’ so I thought I’d make a video showing how to do just that:

It is quite time consuming but would be worth it if you have a design that has a repeat of more than the 24 stitches of your punchcard.

It might be better if you knitted in some of the floats at the back which I didn’t do. I should maybe have done it when there were more than about five stitches between the contrast stitches.

You also have to be careful when you’re knitting in the contrast colour by hand that you don’t get the main yarn float caught in the needle hook, you need to make sure it goes behind the latch and doesn’t get knitted in with the contrast yarn.

I hope some of you found this video…

View original post 103 more words

This entry was posted in Misc. Bookmark the permalink.