Intarsia Flag

I downloaded a free chart of the British flag and decided to have a go at knitting it on the SK280. I haven’t really done much intarsia apart from a few jumpers I made on the Bond many years ago. I didn’t have any red, white and blue wool so I used some odd leftover balls in other colours just to see if I could do it.

It took me all of Sunday afternoon to knit this tiny flag which measures 4″ x 5″

Union Flag

Union flag

I had quite a tangle of wool on the floor in front of me. At one stage there were thirteen balls in use on one row and with the wool being second hand it wasn’t straight, it was all crinkled which didn’t help. Next time (if there is a next time) I will wind the wool onto pieces of cardboard with little nicks in them so I can secure the wool to them and stop them getting all tangled up on the floor.

I made one or two little mistakes but as it was only a practice piece it doesn’t matter.

I did have an idea in my head about making a few union flags (in the right colours) and incorporating them into a jumper using the sew as you go method but after spending four hours knitting this tiny flag I think I’ll scrap that idea – life’s too short.

I’ll probably have another go at intarsia only next time I’ll try something that doesn’t have thirteen colour changes in one row.

Talk to you later,

Susan.

 

Visit the message board

This entry was posted in machine knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Intarsia Flag

  1. Yvonne says:

    It looks great Susan.Well done and the colours are nice.I wouldn t mind trying it but the thought of having so many balls of wool is daunting.It is rainy day knitting! REgards Yvonne

  2. Maureen says:

    That looks really neat Susan. I’ve never done intarsia. After reading this I probably never will. My time for knitting is limited so I like to get as much done at each session as possible. You are so good at all this stuff.

  3. Sheryl Evans says:

    It is sooo much easier if you have your yarn wound on bobbins. That pretty much helps to keep the yarn from tangling. You just have to watch them.

    I love to do intarsia. You get better at it as you do it. I know knitters that can do intarsia in their sleep!! Not me tho.

  4. Phil says:

    Nice to see you knitting again Susan!!! Its funny I designed a double jacquard chart to use with my new Brother electronic of the union jack and it came out well. I did some intarsia on my LK150 the other week, and actually quite enjoyed it as normally I find it a bit long winded.

  5. ellen says:

    good to see you back

    • susyranner says:

      I haven’t been anywhere, just not doing any knitting. I had this sudden burst of enthusiasm on Sunday which saw me produce the union flag. I have no idea when the next burst of enthusiasm will hit me!

  6. steelbreeze says:

    I’d be tempted to do it, but as a three colour double jacquard instead. Quite a lot of punching out though! 🙂

  7. samuel says:

    amazing work, i want to try

  8. Alex says:

    Wow that is a nice design, intarsia is worth the end result but it is so flippin boring! I remeber when I put that santa into that jumper I was really really pleased with it, that was the first time I had done intarsia but boy was I tangled up, I think at it’s widest point there was 11 colour changes in one row! And I was not using bobbins, but I wish I had been.
    I weaved in about 30 or 50 tails on the back and then finally gave up and started knotting them and chopping them off! lol

Comments are closed.