Basket Stitch Cardigan

Quite a few years ago I knitted a blanket on the Bond using leftover DK. When I say ‘leftover’, one of the wools was actually a full 500g pack in green which I’d had for ages and couldn’t think what to do with it.

This blanket has never been used, it has just been sitting there for years doing nothing. So last week I decided that I could do something useful with all that DK and I pulled it all out ready to re-use. I was really just after the green as I knew there should (hopefully) be enough of it to make something for myself.

I decided I would make a cardigan on the Bond Ribber. There is a ribbed stitch in the Ribber pattern book called Basket Stitch which I wanted to use so I knitted a sample and created a pattern using Knitware.

So far I’ve only knitted the back. It takes ages to knit the stitch pattern as all the stitches have to be transferred from one bed to the other every eight rows. I think it’s worth it though as the pattern does look quite nice.

Cardigan Back

Back of cardigan

I’m just doing a basic dropped shoulder style with no shaping.

Here’s a close-up of the Basket Stitch pattern:

Basket Stitch

Basket Stitch

The Bond Ribber is being very well behaved so far, dare I think that I have finally tamed the beast?

Talk to you later,

Susan.

Visit the message board

This entry was posted in machine knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Basket Stitch Cardigan

  1. Maureen says:

    Wow, that’s a lot of work, but will be well worth it in the end. It looks like something I would attempt. I love hand manipulating best. I can’t wait to see the finished project.

  2. Alex says:

    Wow susan, I am very suprised you did all that! Well done.
    I would probably only get as far as the 3rd row before it all came off the needles, I hated my bond ribber, I much prefere my knitmaster 155 with ribber, the bond is better for just flat bed work.
    I will love to see it when it is finished, it is looking great.

    Alex

    • susyranner says:

      Thanks, Alex. I hate the Bond ribber when it won’t work properly (which is most of the time) but at the moment we’re friends as it’s behaving itself.

  3. Don says:

    You talk about reforming the stitches. With a ribber, I just transfer the stitches back and forth between the main bed and ribber, knit the required number of rows and then transfer the stitches again. No reforming.

Comments are closed.