Cables On The Bond Ribber

As I intend to put a cable down the middle of the sleeves of the jumper I’m knitting, I had a practice at doing them on the Bond Ribber.

The video doesn’t show the number of times the stitches on the ribber came off and had to be latched up manually, or the swearing every time it happened.

I have decided that I in future I will do the cables using just the main bed, putting the stitch either side of the cable onto a holder then latching up the ladders after every crossover. It will be much less stressful and probably quicker than having those stitches on the ribber.

The cable I did in the video is  over four stitches. I originally tried to do it over six stitches but it was impossible as the stitches had to stretch too far. Even the four stitch cable was a struggle.

I’ve come to the conclusion that the Bond Ribber isn’t really suitable for knitting cables.

Talk to you later,

Susan.

 

View the message board

This entry was posted in machine knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Cables On The Bond Ribber

  1. Ella says:

    Thank you for this video, Susan!

  2. kelly says:

    Even if it wasn’t as easy as it looked, the results are quite nice! Have you also done cables just on the one bed and manipulated the stitches? I haven’t tried it yet and would be interested to know how difficult that is, since I’ve only got the bond not the ribber.

    Thanks!

    • susyranner says:

      I have done cables just on one bed many times and it is very easy. Having the one stitch dropped at either side of the cable gives that extra bit of ‘stretch’ to enable you to do the crossover.

Comments are closed.