Disappointed

I finished the saddle shoulder jumper and am a bit disappointed with it. The last time I made a saddle shoulder jumper from a pattern in one of the Bond magazines, the tops of the sleeves went across the back and joined in the centre. This one I made following a Knitware pattern and the sleeve tops stop at the neck, just like normal sleeves. So this jumper doesn’t quite look as I thought it would.

Also, I put cables down the centre of the sleeves which pulled them in slightly and made them a little tighter than they should have been. It’s not really a problem but I think I should have added a couple of extra stitches to compensate for the cables pulling it in.

Saddle Shoulder

The jumper does fit me though so at least I will still be able to wear it.

Saddle Shoulder Jumper

Talk to you later,

Susan.

View the message board

This entry was posted in machine knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Disappointed

  1. Lynn says:

    I Like it!!

  2. Phil says:

    It still looks lovely Susan… I have done a saddleneck one using knitware too and put cables down the arm, and it too felt a little tight. Maybe something to bare in mind for the future…

  3. Hi Susie: Why are you disappointed? I think you did a smashing job. You are so hard on yourself. I have a sneaking hunch you are Sagittarius like me Dec 8. Everything has to be perfect. Hugs to you Susie.. Shari

    • susyranner says:

      I’m just disappointed that the shoulders didn’t turn out the way I was expecting them too.
      You’re right, I’m Sagittarius – Dec 10th.

  4. Maureen says:

    I think it’s great too. Good point about the extra stitches, will put that one to memory as I would like to knit a saddle sleeve sweater at some point.

  5. Maureen says:

    Nice seams, do you have a linker or do you join seams on the machine? I am still at the hand sewing stage, except for front bands. I am working at improving my sewing up. Old habits die hard, probalbly because I did a lot of hand knitting so got used to sewing the seams.

  6. Sheryl Evans says:

    I think it is beautiful. Every thing you make is gorgeous. That is perfect for a cool day outdoors. I would love to wear something like that out & about. 😉

  7. Laritza says:

    It is quite pretty, and unique. I love cables. As always your work is inspiring.

Comments are closed.