Mitred Square Blanket

Mitred Square Blanket (4)

All the squares were knitted on the vintage Knitmaster 4500. They didn’t actually knit up square, I steamed and pressed them into shape with the iron.

Here’s how I made them:

 

If you can’t be bothered to watch the video, here are the instructions:

4ply (fingering) yarn. E-wrap cast on 40sts. T5 (standard gauge machines will probably need to be at T6) RC000.

Put the needle at the end furthest from the carriage into holding position. Knit the row.

Wrap the yarn around the needle in holding position then knit the row.

Carry on this way, bringing the next needle furthest from the carriage into holding position then knitting two rows.

When you have knitted 76 rows there should be only 2 stitches left in working position.

Now you need to put the first needle that is in holding position (the one closest to the carriage) back into working position, then knit two rows.

Carry on this way, putting one needle back into working position then knitting two rows until you have knitted 150 rows in total.

There will be one needle left in holding position. Use the loose thread of yarn that you started the cast on with to knit this stitch off.

Cast off.

Pin them out to about 7inch square and press them with a steam iron.

I made my blanket 14 squares x 14 squares. It fits a double bed.

Mitred Square Blanket

I knitted this edging except I only knitted 6 rows over each set of three stitches, not 8 as per the instructions.

This entry was posted in machine knitting, Patterns. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Mitred Square Blanket

  1. Karien says:

    This is oh-so-beautiful!! Glad you got it finished, I probably never would have.

  2. Xilaa says:

    Cette couverture est sublime ! Quel travail !

  3. Lynn says:

    Gorgeous work!

  4. This is just AMAZING looking, I love it!

  5. judy mosher says:

    The blanket is amazing! I have a question about the machine. A 4500? Where is the special braided Woolen cord called a needle retraining strip. How do it I replace it? Thank you so much. Judy

  6. Dee Brandvig says:

    I was deep into trying to figure out a mitred square on the machine when I realized that someone MUST have already done this…luckily, I found you first and I couldn’t be happier. Thank you so much for sharing…I am making joined mitred squares (by rehanging one of the adjacent sides of the square before binding off) into a hat so this will speed things up considerably. Thanks, again.

  7. catherine s says:

    Thank you so much for this! your blanket looks amazing! I’ve made my 1st square (1/4 of big square) thanks to your tutorial!

    • susyranner says:

      You’re welcome and thank you.
      Will you be posting a photo of it on your blog when it’s finished?

  8. This is absolutely stunning! You have inspired me to try new things with my 4500… thank you 🙂

  9. Wow. Thank you so much for taking the time to make a video and write out the instructions. I have an old knitting magazine (2 or them) with a mini series on mitred squares using charts and I have been very afraid to start in on them. Now I think I can do it. And I love your accent.

Comments are closed.