Fisherman’s Rib Hat

Fishermans Rib Hat Front Fishermans Rib Hat Back

This pattern is from a Modern Knitting magazine from October 1962.

Ribmaster Hat

I altered it slightly by knitting 149 rows in fisherman’s rib rather than the 97 that the pattern asked for. I also didn’t bother with the pom pom.

The original hat would have looked like this

hat

This entry was posted in machine knitting, Patterns. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Fisherman’s Rib Hat

  1. Xilaa says:

    Très chouette ce bonnet !! J’aime beaucoup ta réalisation !

  2. Yvonne says:

    Lööks really nice Susy. I will give it a go but like you with the extra rows.

    • SusyR says:

      Those extra rows make it feel more secure on your head and also make it warmer with there being more of it doubled over.

  3. Ellen Errey says:

    I’ve been looking for something like this for my son for years. I’ve been crocheting instead because I couldn’t find a pattern he liked. Thanks clever girl. Ellen.

  4. Ellen Errey says:

    Would love to see a video of you doing this, step by step. “in your free time of course”. Stretching a friendship? I learn so much from your videos – actually most things, because I have had no lessons. Ta Susan.

    • SusyR says:

      You should be able to knit this easily, check your ribber manual for the instructions for fisherman’s rib and the rest is straight forward.

Comments are closed.