Finally Bought Some Wool

I received some money for my birthday so today I went into town and bought some wool, something I haven’t done for ages. I should say I bought some yarn as it’s not actually made of wool, it’s acrylic. I think I’ll stick to buying acrylic in future, it’s cheap and it’s hard wearing. Also there’s less chance of me ruining my jumpers in the washing machine. My machine has a setting for woollens but I can’t tell you how many times I’ve accidently washed my woollens on the wrong cycle and shrunk and felted my jumpers. Anyway, acrylic’s cheaper and you know what a cheapskate I am.

I bought six 100g balls of DK from Boyes, three white and three black, it came to just over a tenner. I intend making a jumper in my football team’s colours – Darlington play in black and white hoops.

Black And White Wool

I think I’ll make it a bit longer than I normally make my jumpers and I’ll put a collar on it rather than just the usual crew neck. I hope I’ve bought enough wool but if not I’ll just go back and buy some more. It shouldn’t matter about matching dye lots. I’ve already knitted a tension swatch so tomorrow I’ll create a pattern using Knitware and get started on it.

I bought another six 100g balls, three grey and three blue, this time from Poundworld – those were the only colours they had. The balls were only a quid each so I’m not expecting great things from it. I think it’s DK, though there’s no indication on the ball band as to what it actually is, only that it’s 100% acrylic.

Grey And Blue Wool

I haven’t decided what I’m doing with this yet, whether to do hoops like the black and white one or to use a punchcard and do a pattern. I’ll have to have a think about it. If I haven’t bought enough of this I probably won’t be able to get any more so I’ll just have to hope I don’t run out.

Talk to you later,

Susan.

This entry was posted in machine knitting, Misc. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Finally Bought Some Wool

  1. Yvonne says:

    Nice colours Susan.I just love Boyes,not just for wool but for everything, My Mam and I used to stroll around the shop for hours.It is great and I still have quite a few garmets made with Boyes wool So go for it, there s nothing wrong with aycrlic! Looking forward to your Darlo pullover.Yvonne

    • SusyR says:

      I hope Boyes never closes down, what would we do without it? It was bad enough when Dressers went. I still miss the Christmas puppet display they used to have in their window every year.

  2. martha says:

    I’m happy I am not the only who likes knitting yarn. Every time I go to Michael’s or Walmart, I buy some more. Question? Is there a difference in machine yarn and hand knitting yarn. I ;am using 4 ply for a bulky knitter. Singer 155 for sure… Thanks martha

    • SusyR says:

      The machine knitting yarn on cones is treated with wax so it goes through the machine smoothly.

      • martha says:

        Thanks. I am buying the big one pound skeins. Is it treated also? I am just relearning after 27 years. kinda of rusty. I have a can of spray on stuff for yarn, is it safe? thanks Martha

        • SusyR says:

          I don’t think the skeins are treated, I think it’s just the cones though I could be wrong.
          I’ve never used any spray for yarn so I wouldn’t know if it’s safe or not. If it’s something that’s made specifically for yarn I would think it is safe.

  3. ghowes1 says:

    Great there is a Boyes shop opening near me before Christmas, I will get myself down there and check out the yarn. I love getting your blogs, keep it up

  4. Joan Price says:

    Hi Susan, my DIL is a manager at Pound world and she has just had a delivery of yarn, with more to follow on Thursday. Joan P

Comments are closed.