Attempting A Sew As You Go Jumper

Some time ago I wrote this post about knitting a sew as you go jumper. I finally decided to try it, just to see if it would work.

I didn’t try to knit the sleeves circular, I just did them flat as I thought it would be easier. I was expecting the sew as you go to be a bit fiddly but once the first couple of rows had been joined it was quite easy.

I knitted both the sleeves, then knitted the back, joining the sleeves when I knitted the raglan shaping. I joined the front to the back as I knitted it but couldn’t start joining it until after the ribbing. It might have been possible to join the ribbing as I knitted but to be honest I think it would have been a bit of a headache as there is no room to work between the beds when the ribber is in place.

The front neck shaping didn’t give me any trouble, I was expecting it to go wrong after I’d done the right side and started on the left side.

After it was all knitted, the only seams to be sewn were the sleeves, edges of the bottom ribbing and the back and front neckband.

What I’m not happy with are the side seams:

Sew As You Go Side Seam

I don’t know if there’s anything I could do to improve them in future. Maybe I just need a bit more practice.

The raglan seams look neater:

Sew As You Go Raglan

So apart from the seams not being as neat as I’d like them, the sew as you go jumper worked out quite well. I don’t think it’s something I’ll do very often but it’s good to know that it’s possible to do it. I’d still like to be able to do the sleeves circular so that there’s even less sewing up to do.

This entry was posted in machine knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Attempting A Sew As You Go Jumper

  1. Judi Meissner says:

    I have never been very fond of seam as you go
    for the obvious reason – it doesn’t look as good
    as other seams

  2. Nicoleta says:

    To be it looks very good, at least in the picture.

Comments are closed.