Short Sleeved Top Finished

I finished ths short sleeved top a few weeks ago. It has been worn and washed a couple of times and has kept it’s shape (and size) alright. I wasn’t sure of the yarn content so I did the bleach test. The yarn is a twist of two colours, one black and the other dark red. One of them disintegrated and the other didn’t so I assume it’s a wool and acrylic mix. It was a part used cone that I found in a charity shop for £1.50 so it was a bargain.

Short Sleeved Jumper

There should have been buttons and buttonholes on the keyhole neck but as it would never be fastened I didn’t bother with them.

Collar

I don’t know what or even when I’ll be knitting again, my machines are just gathering dust at the moment. I might have a look at all the leftovers and see if I can come up with anything.

Talk to you later,

Susan.

 

View the message board

This entry was posted in machine knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Short Sleeved Top Finished

  1. anny says:

    hermoso
    anny

  2. Lela says:

    Your new top looks great! Very wearable, and I love the color! My machines have been gathering dust lately too… Not enough hours in the day I guess. Congratulations on your finished sweater!

  3. Lynell says:

    Lovely! I just finished a sweater for my husband I started 15 or so years ago. Your summer sweater inspires me.

    Like you, I bought some yarn at the thrift shop and I’m thinking or doing up some toques for the Xmas tree … if I can find my knitting group’s pattern. I want to try out my new mid-gauge and the new knitting table my husband bought me. He got tired of the clutter and wanted to contain it on one surface. LOL I have to admit having everything together in one place is nice. I was thinking I can just take it outside as well. It would be nice to knit in the sunshine.

    • SusyR says:

      I wouldn’t dare take my knitting machine outside to knit, knowing my luck it would start raining as soon as I’d set it up.

  4. This is beautiful!

  5. mwalworth says:

    Very nice. I have never heard of the “bleach test.” Could you elaborate?

    • SusyR says:

      Put some neat bleach in a saucer and lay a length of the yarn in it. Leave it for a while and if it disintigrates it is wool, if it doesn’t it’s acrylic.

      • mwalworth says:

        Thank you. I have some yarn I was given that I know is at least partially wool from doing the burn test. This sounds like it will help me determine if there is some acrylic component.

  6. Beautiful. I love the color. Great idea not to make button holes. Question: do you still have the sock tutorial video? I’ve looked but can’t find it. No rush for an answer…it looks like we’ll be in hot and humid weather in a few days–so no sock wearing for many weeks. Thanks. ^__^

    • SusyR says:

      If you mean the socks I made on the KM302 (there were four or five short videos where I followed the instructions out of a magazine) I think I have those videos saved on a disc somewhere. I’ll have a look for them sometime and get them uploaded.

      • Thank you. If the KM302 vid had the “Flight of the bumble bee” tune (I think that was the piece) And again, no rush at all. ^__^

        • SusyR says:

          You’re not thinking of the one with the Benny Hill theme are you? I’ll see if I can find it.

          • Sorry, did not know–who in the world is Benny Hill…did she mean Benny Hinn…I thought–but you are right, that’s the music piece. After googling it!…what do I know about music…I knew I had heard it. It is always played during videos showing intense activity. I should come out from under my rock more often. ^__^

  7. Morag Walker says:

    Hi Susy I love that new sweater do you have pattern? You don’t seem too kean at the moment. What’s wrong? Best wishes Morag

    • SusyR says:

      I’ve now posted the pattern on the blog.

      The reason I don’t seem too keen at the moment is that I’m just not in a knitting mood. I go through phases of non-stop knitting then no knitting at all. I’m currently in a no knitting at all phase. It will pass, it usually does!

Comments are closed.