Workbag Made From Leftovers

Finished Bag

Finished Bag (2)

This is from a Modern Knitting magazine dated March 1970.

It is knitted using leftovers of DK yarn and is very quick and easy to make.

bag

Don’t worry about the tension being exact, it’s knitted from leftovers which will probably be different brands and yarn compositions.

My bag came out measuring 17 inches wide and 15 inches deep.

Knitted Panels For Bag

Here are some of the stripe combinations that I used:

1) 15 rows colour A, 14 rows colour B, 15 rows colour A
2) 8 rows colour A, 10 rows colour B, 8 rows colour A, 10 rows colour B, 8 rows colour A
3) 11 stripes of 4 rows each, alternating between colour A and colour B
4) 12 rows colour A, 4 rows colour B, 12 rows colour A, 4 rows colour B, 12 rows colour A

You could make the bag in your favourite team’s colours, you could make all the squares plain or you could put fair isle or intarsia pictures on them. You could knit each strip in a single colour rather than knitting different coloured squares.

For the lining I used part of a plastic tarpaulin sheet that I bought from Poundworld but you could use any leftover fabric that you have. Maybe you could knit the lining.

I joined the knitted strips then sewed the lining onto them before folding it in half and joining the side seams using the sewing machine.

Bag Progress

Although this is supposed to be a workbag, I have used it as a shopping bag and did manage to get a lot in it. If you are going to use it as a shopping bag you should make sure the handles are sewn in place very securely – you don’t want them giving way when you’re carrying your shopping home!

This entry was posted in machine knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Workbag Made From Leftovers

  1. Yvonne says:

    Looks lovely Susan!

  2. gorgeous !thanks for sharing ! i’ll try that with my empisal asap ! hello from france !

  3. Margaret CUMMINGS ~ DONINGTON (Lincolnshire) M.K,. Club says:

    Absolutely great ~ you have enthused me to make one !
    Thanks Susan !

  4. I love it! Top of my list to start working on today! Thank you so much for sharing.

  5. Love, it! Your pictures are great. Thanks for sharing. Ruth

  6. Lynn says:

    Great idea….love it!

  7. pam says:

    Great idea for all those partial skeins.

    • susyranner says:

      The good thing is it hardly uses any yarn so you don’t really need many leftovers to make it.

  8. Love it! The colors are great!

    • susyranner says:

      Thanks, I would have liked a couple of bright yellow or orange stripes in there too but I didn’t have any.

  9. Tanya says:

    What a fantastic way to use up those DK scraps, make something very cheerful and useful. Thank you. Your bag turned out so nicely.

  10. Morag Walker says:

    Hi Susy I just thought I would go through your site and see what you had done and this bag is gorgeous. I think I’ll look for all the odd bits in my stash. Did you do this on the machine or by hand? I was looking for a bag for going to my crafty class. Thank you again.

  11. Pauline says:

    I took the summer off from projects and am ready to get back to it..this is a great “back to work” project.
    Looks GREAT! Nice work. Thanks for sharing!

Comments are closed.