Knitting A Thick Fabric, Plain Or Striped

Sorry for the shaky camera work towards the end of the video.

The title of this post was supposed to be ‘Knitting A Rib Effect Fabric’ but the effect I was trying to achieve didn’t work out. I thought that by knitting the stripes in the same colour it would give a pattern that looks slightly ribbed. Maybe if I’d altered the tension it might have worked, I don’t know.

However, I was really pleased with the way the knitting came out. I suppose using Double Knitting yarn and any punchcard you end up with a thicker fabric, it’s just that the floats you end up with using this particular punchcard locked on the one row are all the same size so it’s an even thickness all over.

It got me thinking about how I could use it in a jumper. As I said in the video, using the same colour for the stripes would give you a plain jumper but it would be nice and thick for the Winter. A two colour striped jumper would be OK but I think it might look better if you unlocked the card to start with and did a checkerboard border before locking the card off and continuing in stripes.

You could use a different punchcard and lock it off on a row that would give you stripes of different thicknesses depending on how the card was punched.

If you don’t have a chunky/bulky machine it would be a good way to have a thicker knit without trying to knit with thick yarns over every alternate needle.

Can anyone think of any down sides to this? Would the jumper be too thick to be comfortable? Would it be too heavy? Would it be awkward to dry it once you’ve washed it?

Talk to you later,

Susan.

.

View the message board

This entry was posted in machine knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Knitting A Thick Fabric, Plain Or Striped

  1. Jane says:

    Thats interesting I have recently knitted a baby hooded jacket using punchcard 1 from modern knitting baby collection.I used the same colour yarn .it came much thicker and the leggins that were also in the pattern were reversed showing the 1 stitch floats. I think its a great idea. the hem was plain stockinette for so many rows then the same amount of rows again but using the punchcard and both strands of yarn . gave a real heavy hem for the jacket. I was just really playing around with the punchcard.

    • susyranner says:

      Sounds like it will be nice and warm for the baby. This is something I really must try on a jumper for myself for the Winter.

  2. Pingback: A Jumper For Billy « My Knitting Machines And Me

  3. Pen says:

    Love it – looks like you have a reversible fabric there, could make for interesting design possibilities in a jacket, eg at the collar and cuffs.

    • susyranner says:

      And I can confirm that it does make a warm fabric, having made a work jumper for Billy to wear outside using this method.

Comments are closed.