Christmas Stocking

Christmas Stocking

This was knitted from a pattern found in an old Modern Knitting magazine from 1976.

It is knitted in Double Knitting yarn on every alternate needle, set at tension 6.

My first attempt and knitting it went wrong when I did the decreases as the rows just wouldn’t add up. I looked at it for ages trying to figure out where I’d gone wrong and was convinced that there was a mistake in the pattern. Then it dawned on me what I’d done wrong. The instructions say to count the needles that are out of work as stitches throughout, I had only been counting the ones that were in work. How daft am I?

Once I’d figured out my mistake it was easy to knit. After it comes off the machine you need to give it a good tug to even out all the stitches. The toe shaping looks a bit odd to me but I suppose once the stocking is filled with presents on Christmas morning nobody will be bothered about what the toe of the stocking looks like, will they?

stocking1

stocking2

Mine finished up measuring 27 inches from top to toe, with the foot part measuring about 11 inches long.

This is what the original looks like in the magazine:

original stocking

Talk to you later,

Susan.

.

View the message board

This entry was posted in machine knitting, Patterns. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Christmas Stocking

  1. Ellen says:

    I like the look of yours better then the picture. You did a lovely job.

  2. Maddy says:

    I like it very much too and yours was better than the picture as Ellen commented. Thanks so much for pattern and all you do for machine knitting, I for one really appreciate it.

  3. Reblogged this on Icelma Creations and commented:
    Well I love my feed of blogs with interesting posts for me to enjoy with my coffee…I think this wee stocking has my name on it, I love vintage patterns and going to look for some yarn stash right now to have a go…yes that does mean..I am not doing any decorating today! Had enough paint fumes for a life time lol plus…I would very much like to make some cute stockings and this one…is screaming at me to have a go!

    • susyranner says:

      I found it easy to knit once I re-read the instructions and followed them properly.
      Thanks for the reblog.

Comments are closed.