Toy Elephant

Machine Knitted Elephant

elephant (2)

This was knitted in Double Knitting using a pattern from the November 1971 edition of Modern Knitting. I found the exact same pattern in an earlier edition (October 1966) only they had used 4ply yarn. Both sets of instructions say it will end up approximately 10 inches in height though I would have thought the 4ply version would be smaller. The one I knitted stands at just over 10 inches.

The instructions for sewing the various parts into place are a bit vague, they just say to position as shown. The photo in the magazine of the DK version doesn’t show you much so I have included the photo from the 4ply version which gives a better idea of the positioning of the tusks. The DK version has no eyes, just eyelashes made from felt. The 4 ply version has embroidered eyes. I chose the easy way and sewed on a couple of buttons for eyes.

Here are the DK instructions which I followed with the carriage set at tension 9. Click the photo for a larger view:

elephant 1

elephant 2

If you want to knit it in 4ply, just follow the same instructions but set the carriage at tension 6.

This is the 4ply version:

elephant 3

These are all the parts, pinned out so you can see what you should end up with:

Elephant Parts

Mine could have done with a bit more stuffing, his neck is a little bit floppy. Also, I think I put his tail a bit too low down but other than that I am quite pleased with the way he turned out.

This entry was posted in machine knitting, Patterns. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Toy Elephant

  1. Carol Muller says:

    Adorable!

  2. mwalworth says:

    A very handsome little elephant. I wish I had the skill and patience to sew all those pieces together. I have some nieces and nephews who would love it, but I know me. I would get all the pieces knit and then it would sit for a year or two waiting to be sewn up. 😀

    • susyranner says:

      I kept looking at all the pieces and thinking “nah, I can’t be bothered”, that’s why it took me so long to get it finished.

  3. Morag Walker says:

    Hi Susy I think he is gorgeous!

  4. Maureen says:

    I think he is great too. We have another grandbaby due next April so think I will give this a try. Great job Suzy!

  5. Lynn says:

    Love him!!!

  6. Shari says:

    Well isn’t he the cutest little guy ever. That was a lot of work my dear.and a job well done.

  7. Helle says:

    Lovely 🙂 i just wonder about copy right…is it O.K. to publish from a magazine?

    • susyranner says:

      I would never post anything from a current magazine but these are over 40 years old and no longer published. If I was told to remove them I would. It would be such a shame if these old patterns remained hidden away, never to be seen again.

  8. Cathy S says:

    very cute, great job!

  9. Elaine says:

    Your elephant is adorable! I would like to try this pattern but I am confused by the statement to: cast on by hand. Do you cast on with knitting needles and transfer? To me an e wrap would work. What did you do?

    • susyranner says:

      E wrap is fine. It”s not worded very well, I think it just means you need a closed edge cast on, rather than an open edge such as a weaving cast on.

Comments are closed.