Christmas Stocking On The Bond

Christmas Stocking

The instructions for this Christmas stocking can be found in the Bond Magazine Winter 1988, which you can download here.

The brick pattern wasn’t difficult, it was just a bit fiddly. You don’t have to do the brick pattern, you could do it plain or striped or maybe do a fair isle pattern or an intarsia picture.

The instructions say you need 50g of red and 50g of white Double Knitting or Aran. I used Double Knitting and the weight of my completed stocking is only 35g.

My completed stocking measures 14 inches from top to toe.

 

I hope some of you find this useful.

Talk to you later,

Susan.

.

View the message board

This entry was posted in machine knitting, Patterns. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Christmas Stocking On The Bond

  1. Pamela Hogan Rambin says:

    Thanks for posting, I have been looking for something like that

    That which does not kill us only makes us stronger

  2. Jackie says:

    So pretty!!!!
    Can the stocking be done on a standard machine?
    Thanks!

    • susyranner says:

      I should think so but the proportions might be wrong because of the different gauges. I think the brick pattern would be a bit trickier to do on the standard.

  3. Carol Muller says:

    That came out really cute!

  4. littlebo@pyatt.net says:

    SUSY. Thank you for posting that Christmas stocking. I learn so much better by seeing what somone is talking about.

  5. Reblogged this on Icelma Creations and commented:
    Hand manipulation of the stitches maybe time consuming at times…but this Christmas Stocking just goes to prove that the Bond knitting machine is worth playing with. Love this cute stocking cant wait to have a go 🙂 My grandchildren should like these I think 🙂

    • susyranner says:

      I agree, the Bond is worth playing with. Despite the simplicity of the machine it really can produce some great results if you’re prepared to spend the extra time. My Bond will always be my favourite machine even if I don’t use it nearly as much as I used to.
      Thanks for the reblog.

Comments are closed.