Lilac Jumper Fixed

I fixed the lilac jumper that I mentioned in my last post. I can’t say it looks as good as new but it’s wearable again and that’s all I was bothered about.

Lilac Jumper Fixed

The cuffs were easy to do as they were added on after the sleeves had been knitted so it was just a matter of pulling them out and re-hanging the stitches then re-knitting the ribbing.

The front and back ribs were a little trickier but not as bad as I thought they would be. They had been knitted first so I couldn’t pull them out from the cast on row. I suppose it would have been technically possible but would have resulted in a big tangled mess, not recommended for stress levels.

I threaded a length of contrast coloured yarn through the row of ribbing immediately before the main knitting. I had to remember that I would be turning it upside down to re-hang it so had to be careful to thread it through loops and not gaps. After a couple of false starts I eventually got it right and was able to remove the ribbing without losing the stitches on the main knitting. I unravelled the ribs, re-hung the jumper and re-knitted the ribs.

I now have a jumper that doesn’t flap about at the bottom and I can do the washing up without having to keep pulling the sleeves back up all the time. I might get another couple of years out of it now.

Talk to you later,

Susan.

This entry was posted in machine knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Lilac Jumper Fixed

  1. Morag Walker says:

    Hi Susy It’s lovely what yarn did you use? What tension did you do ribs at?

    • susyranner says:

      Thanks, Morag. I used Bramwell 4ply 100% acrylic. The tension I used for the ribbing was 3 on each bed.

  2. Carol Muller says:

    It looks great…definitely wearable!

  3. Maureen says:

    Great job on saving your sweater. Do you know what caused the ribbing to get loose before?

    • susyranner says:

      I think maybe I didn’t knit it at a tight enough tension in the first place and the more I washed it the worse it got. Hopefully it will be alright this time.

  4. Virginia says:

    Susan, you are a great inspiration. Thank you so much for sharing!

Comments are closed.